US Sailing Releases 2020 Youth National Championship Series Schedule

BRISTOL, R.I. (January 30, 2020) – It’s never too early to start planning ahead for the summer sailing season. US Sailing is excited to release the schedule for the 2020 Youth National Championship Series.

Read More

US Sailing and the Sperry Local Ambassador Program – John Schoendorf

Meet John Schoendorf from Miami, Fla. US Sailing and Sperry have partnered to recognize local sailors for contributions made to their respective sailing communities. Sperry Local Ambassadors have a passion for sailing and they share that passion with others to get out on the water and support the growth of our sport. A Q&A with…Read More

Three Golds, 1 Bronze for USA at Hempel World Cup Series Miami

Four American sailors to secure Medal victories at the 2020 Hempel World Cup Series Miami. Pascual, Reineke and Paine win Gold and Muller wins Bronze. On the final day of the regatta, U.S. athletes in the 470, RS:X, and Finn classes also capped off the second of three events that make up the U.S. athlete Olympic trials.

Read More

US Sailing Announces U.S. Selection Procedures for 2020 Offshore World Championships

BRISTOL, R.I. (January 16, 2020) – US Sailing has published the Selection Procedures detailing U.S. athlete selection for World Sailing’s inaugural Offshore World Championships in Valletta, Malta on October 10-22, 2020. The 2020 Offshore World Championships will be raced in parallel with the Rolex Middle Sea Race in the L30 class sailboat. World Sailing has…Read More

Olympic Development Program Enters New Era

US Sailing’s Olympic Development Program athletes make the transition from Youth World classes to Olympic classes.

Read More

2020 Hempel World Cup Series Miami – U.S. Storylines and Event Preview

For 31 years, Biscayne Bay and Miami have been an important stop on the Olympic-class circuit. Among the 171 athletes, from 50 countries competing at 2020 Hempel World Cup Series Miami, USA, are numerous Olympic medalists and World Champions. The Opening Series for each class starts on Monday, January 20.

Read More

US Sailing Announces Shortlist for 2019 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Awards

The top performing U.S. sailors of the year have been shortlisted for US Sailing’s 2019 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards. The annual determination of this year’s awards represents a wide range of accomplished sailors at different stages of their respective careers and from various disciplines in the sport. All six of these finalists represent their own unique pathway to the top of the sport and have each mastered their craft with a dedicated focus on precision and performance on the grandest stage. Fan Voting Closes Sunday, January 26.

Read More

US Sailing in 2019: Highlighting our Progress and Looking Ahead to a Bright Future

From all of us at US Sailing, we hope that you are having a wonderful holiday season. We have had a busy and productive year and would like to take a moment to thank you for your ongoing support and commitment to our organization that has enabled us to progress on many fronts.

Read More

Janel Zarkowsky on Siebel Sailors Program at Downtown Sailing Center 

This fall season was busy for the newly selected centers within the three regions of the Siebel Sailors Program. Each center accepted delivery of new RS Feva XL sailboats, rearranged their dock space to showcase the new fleet, and fit a Demo Day event into their already packed schedules! Luckily, the Mid-Atlantic region was blessed with ideal conditions that made each Demo Day a delight.   

Read More

U.S. Finns Emerge from 2019 Gold Cup with Stronger Unity and Focus for 2020

The 2019 Finn Gold Cup wrapped with what was probably the windiest day on Port Phillip. For the final races of the event, the athletes saw a southerly breeze at about 15-21 knots. The day began with the final fleet race for all teams outside the top ten and wrapped with the medal race featuring the competitors at the front of the pack.

Read More