U.S. Junior Women’s Doublehanded Championship

U.S. Junior Women's Doublehanded Championship

Event Details

July 24 – July 29, 2018

Mentor Harbor Yachting Club, Mentor, Ohio

Competing for:

Thank You National Sponsors

Regatta Documents

Results & Reports

Previous Winners

2017 Maddie Hawkins and Kimmie Leonard, Annapolis Yacht Club

2016 Sarah Burn and Patricia Gerli, Bay Head Yacht Club & Mantoloking Yacht Club

2015 Stephanie Houck and Camille White, Annapolis Yacht Club

2014 Lucy Wilmot and Sally Wilmot, San Francisco Yacht Club & Richmond Yacht Club

2013 Carolyn Smith and Bayley Davidson, Newport Harbor YC & Balboa YC/Balboa Yacht Club

2012 Allyson Donahue and Maddie Widmeir, Brigantine Yacht Club/Brant Yacht Club

2011 Sarah Williams and Ali Blumenthal, Bay Head Yacht Club/Bellport Yacht Club

2010 Kate Rakelly and Colleen Hackett, Mission Bay Yacht Club

2009 Chanel Miller and Yuri Namikawa, Lauderdale Yacht Club/California Yacht Club

2008 Sydney Bolger and Caitlin Beavers, Alamitos Bay Yacht Club/Newport Harbor Yacht Club

2007 Emily Maxwell and Kelly Stannard, Ram Island Yacht Club/Niantic Bay Yacht Club

2006 Amanda Johnson and Ellie O’Brien, Beach Haven Yacht Club/Bay Head Yacht Club

2005 Rebecca Dellenbaugh and Leigh Hammel, Pequot Yacht Club/Noroton Yacht Club

2004 Roberta Steele and Meredith Nordhem, Houston Yacht Club/Chicago Yacht Club

2003 Leigh Kempton and Kaity Storck,Toms River Yacht Club/Centerport Yacht Club

2002 Derby Anderson and Lucy Kupersmith, Severn Sailing Association/Fishing Bay Yacht Club

2001 Molly Carapiet and Mallory McCollum, St. Francis Yacht Club

2000 Julie Papanek and Lindsay Duda, Chicago Yacht Club

1999 Abby Swann and Katie Clausen, San Francisco Yacht Club/St. Francis Yacht Club

1998 Margaret Gill and Abby Curran, Wianno Yacht Club

1997 Erin Maxwell and Laurin Manning, Ram Island Ycht Club

1996 Erin Maxwell and Tammy Passano, Ram Island Yacht Club

1995 Anika Leerssen and Monique Roeder – Ida Lewis Yacht Club


2016 Marina Geilen and Natalia Gagliano

2015 Meredith Morran and Natalie Hopper

2014 Maddie Gruenke

2013 Lucy Wilmot and Maya Dornbrand-Lo

2012 Samantha and Elizabeth Foulston

2011 Boo Devanny and Amanda Wagner

2010 Carolyn Smith and Bayley Davidson

2009 Rachel Glenn and Jean Rutledge

2008 Stephanie Hudson and Laura McKenna

2007 Caroline Wright and Megan Place

2006 Kate Donnelly and Alli Moorhead

2005 Kerry Morrison and Kerri McHugh

2004 Meredith Muller

2003 Meredith Muller

Other Information


Welcome Letter for Registered Competitors

Charters: limited charters will be provided by Zim Sailing. Fill out their charter agreement form and email to Once they receive your form, they will be in touch to confirm your charter.

Sailorships : Travel grants for sailors to travel to US Sailing’s U.S. junior or youth championships

About This Event

The U.S. Junior Women’s Championships Committee annually hosts two events: a Singlehanded and a Doublehanded Championship. Both championships are open events and include two days of high performance racing clinic and three days of championship racing. They provide a world-class training and racing opportunity to enhance the experience, sailing skills, and competitive sportsmanship of the competitors.

Championship Facts

  • Type of Event: Open
  • Fleets: Club 420
  • Competitors must have reached their 13th birthday but not their 19th in calendar year, and be eligible to compete per the Notice of Race.
  • The US Sailing Youth National Coach and staff are hired for the entire event to provide equal guidance to all competitors. No private coaching is allowed. 2018 coaches include: Richard Feeny, Alana O’Reilly Marks, Scott Ikle, Beka Schiff, Amanda Callahan, Dillon Paiva, Sarah Lihan, plus additional coaches.
  • This regatta is made possible by the generous support of the C. Thomas Clagett Trust

Championship History

The Singlehanded Championship, sailed in Laser Radials, was started by Tom Clagett in 1980 at the Ida Lewis Yacht Club, Newport, RI and sailed for a trophy named in memory of Tom’s wife, Nancy, who died in April, 1977. In 1985, USYRU (now US Sailing) agreed to support the event on a trial basis. In 1986, it became the U.S. Junior Women’s Singlehanded Championship for the Nancy Leiter Clagett Memorial Trophy. The U.S. Junior Women’s Doublehanded Championship for the Ida Lewis Trophy championship was started in 1995 when it became apparent that a second championship in a doublehanded boat was needed to complement the singlehanded event. It became a US Sailing national championship in 1996.

A separate sportsmanship prize was later added to both championships in 2001, following Tom’s death in June of that year and a family logo was created for the championships incorporating Tom’s and Nancy’s private yacht signals. Nancy’s signal was a green ladder on a yellow rectangle since “Leiter” is German for ladder. Tom and Nancy’s first boat was named “The Barefoot Girl” after Nancy’s preference not to wear shoes. Tom’s private signal became two white bare feet on a blue triangle. The Singlehanded class flag is Nancy’s signal flag, and the Doublehanded class flag is a representation of the Ida Lewis lighthouse.




U.S. Junior Women's Doublehanded Championship