Awards & Trophies

Ida Lewis Trophy

In 1995 C. Thomas Clagett, Jr., commisioned the Ida Lewis Trophy to present to
the winner of the U.S. Junior Women’s Doublehanded Championship to
compliment the Nancy Leiter Clagett Trophy for the winner of the U.S, Junior
Women’s Singlehanded Championship.

The family continues Tom’s dedication and commitment to Junior Women’s sailing through C. Thomas Clagett Trust sponsorship of this clinic and regatta.

This support is intended to encourage young American women to enhance their sailing ability, with emphasis on sportsmanship, by providing the opportunity to compete in national-level competition with guidance from high-level coaching. The Ida Lewis Trophy is on display at the Ida Lewis Yacht Club and is maintained by the McLennan Family.

Previous Award Recipients

  • 2023 Annie Sitzmann and Daphne Walsh, Sail1Design
  • 2022 Sophia Devling and Piper Blackband, Balboa Yacht Club & Bahia Corinthian Yacht Club
  • 2021 Event not sailed
  • 2020 Event not sailed
  • 2019 Katharine Doble and Zoey Ziskind, California Yacht Club & Santa Barbara Yacht Club (Club 420 class) & 2019 Svenja Leonard and Adra Ivancich, Santa Barbara Yacht Club (29er class)
  • 2018 Maddie Hawkins and Yumi Yoshiyasu, Annapolis Yacht Club & Houston Yacht Club
  • 2017 Maddie Hawkins and Kimmie Leonard, Annapolis Yacht Club
  • 2016 Sarah Burn and Patricia Gerli, Bay Head Yacht Club & Mantoloking Yacht Club
  • 2015 Stephanie Houck and Camille White, Annapolis Yacht Club
  • 2014 Lucy Wilmot and Sally Wilmot, San Francisco Yacht Club & Richmond Yacht Club
  • 2013 Carolyn Smith and Bayley Davidson, Newport Harbor YC & Balboa YC/Balboa Yacht Club
  • 2012 Allyson Donahue and Maddie Widmeir, Brigantine Yacht Club/Brant Yacht Club
  • 2011 Sarah Williams and Ali Blumenthal, Bay Head Yacht Club/Bellport Yacht Club
  • 2010 Kate Rakelly and Colleen Hackett, Mission Bay Yacht Club
  • 2009 Chanel Miller and Yuri Namikawa, Lauderdale Yacht Club/California Yacht Club
  • 2008 Sydney Bolger and Caitlin Beavers, Alamitos Bay Yacht Club/Newport Harbor Yacht Club
  • 2007 Emily Maxwell and Kelly Stannard, Ram Island Yacht Club/Niantic Bay Yacht Club
  • 2006 Amanda Johnson and Ellie O’Brien, Beach Haven Yacht Club/Bay Head Yacht Club
  • 2005 Rebecca Dellenbaugh and Leigh Hammel, Pequot Yacht Club/Noroton Yacht Club
  • 2004 Roberta Steele and Meredith Nordhem, Houston Yacht Club/Chicago Yacht Club
  • 2003 Leigh Kempton and Kaity Storck,Toms River Yacht Club/Centerport Yacht Club
  • 2002 Derby Anderson and Lucy Kupersmith, Severn Sailing Association/Fishing Bay Yacht Club
  • 2001 Molly Carapiet and Mallory McCollum, St. Francis Yacht Club
  • 2000 Julie Papanek and Lindsay Duda, Chicago Yacht Club
  • 1999 Abby Swann and Katie Clausen, San Francisco Yacht Club/St. Francis Yacht Club
  • 1998 Margaret Gill and Abby Curran, Wianno Yacht Club
  • 1997 Erin Maxwell and Laurin Manning, Ram Island Ycht Club
  • 1996 Erin Maxwell and Tammy Passano, Ram Island Yacht Club
  • 1995 Anika Leerssen and Monique Roeder – Ida Lewis Yacht Club


  • 2022 Isabella Loiselle
  • 2021 Event not sailed
  • 2020 Event not sailed
  • 2019
  • 2018 Emma Friedauer and Samantha Hemans
  • 2017 Ann Sheridan and Julia Skoglund
  • 2016 Marina Geilen and Natalia Gagliano
  • 2015 Meredith Morran and Natalie Hopper
  • 2014 Maddie Gruenke
  • 2013 Lucy Wilmot and Maya Dornbrand-Lo
  • 2012 Samantha and Elizabeth Foulston
  • 2011 Boo Devanny and Amanda Wagner
  • 2010 Carolyn Smith and Bayley Davidson
  • 2009 Rachel Glenn and Jean Rutledge
  • 2008 Stephanie Hudson and Laura McKenna
  • 2007 Caroline Wright and Megan Place
  • 2006 Kate Donnelly and Alli Moorhead
  • 2005 Kerry Morrison and Kerri McHugh
  • 2004 Meredith Muller
  • 2003 Meredith Muller