2020 U.S. Multihull Championship

U.S. Multihull Championship

Event Details

September 7, 2021 – September 12, 2021

Alamitos Bay Yacht Club Event will be sailed as the 2020 Championship and hosted by the F18 Americas
Long Beach, California

Competing for:

Thank You National Sponsors

Results & Reports

Regatta Documents

Other Information

Previous Winners

  • 2019 – Matt Bounds- Hobie 14
  • 2018 – Randy Smyth-  Weta Trimaran
  • 2017 – Phil Collins-  Hobie 17
  • 2016 – Ken Marshack, Valarie Pioszak-  Hobie 18
  • 2015 – Michael Easton, Tripp Burd- Formula 18
  • 2014 – Lars Guk- A Cat
  • 2013 – Enrique Figueroa, Carla Malatrasi- Hobie 16
  • 2012 – Sarah Newberry, Kenny Pierce- Formula 16
  • 2011 – Matt Struble, Damon Lacasella- Viper F16
  • 2010  – Pete Melvin, Nat Shaver- C2 F18
  • 2009 – John Casey, John Williams- Viper F16
  • 2008 – Nigel Pitt, Alex Shafer- F18
  • 2007 – John Casey, John Williams- Blade F16
  • 2006 – Robbie Daniel, Hunter Stunzi- Nacra 20 spi
  • 2005 – Greg Thomas, Jacques Bernier- Hobie Tiger spi
  • 2004 – Mike Montague, Kathy Ward Hobie- 16 no spi
  • 2003 – Matt Struble, W.F. Oliver Javelin- F18HT spi
  • 2002 – Matt Struble, Domonique Martin- Hobie Tiger spi
  • 2001 – Matt Struble, Mike Kletke- Inter 20 spi
  • 1999-2000 – Keith Christensen, Shala Youngerman- Hobie 20
  • 1998-1999 – Randy Smyth, Keith Notary- Nacra 6.0na
  • 1997-1998 – Pete Melvin, Roger Jenkins- Hobie 20
  • 1996 – Jeff Newsome, Sandra Tartaglino- Inter 18
  • 1995 – Randy Smyth, Jason Sneed- Hobie 20
  • 1994 – Bob Curry, Kirk Newkirk- Mystere 6.0
  • 1993 – Randy Smyth, Bert Rice- Nacra 5.5
  • 1992 – Lake Tahoe, CA Larry Suter, Nick Scandone- Hobie 20
  • 1991 – Carlton Tucker, Sean Donnelly- Prindle 19
  • 1990 – Randy Smyth, Glenn Purcell- Prindle 18-2
  • 1989 – Alan Egusa, Paul Parizeau- Hobie 21
  • 1988 – Carlton Tucker, Mary Alice Tucker- Hobie 18
  • 1987 – Carlton Tucker, Jarrett Melvin- Nacra 5.7


USSA Member Discounts: Travel, PFDs, Sunglasses, more…

Hosting a US Sailing Championship

About This Event

Rescheduled to September 7-12, 2021

2020 Americas F18 Championship and U.S. Multihull Championship

Alamitos Bay Yacht Club, Long Beach , CA

NOR Pending

Competitor Documents to be signed and returned to USSA prior to event:

Waivers, Medical Forms, Code of Conduct     Cancellation Agreement

Competitor Notice:

By signing the wavier for this event you acknowledge the power line hazard located at the Long Beach Access Gate at Alamitos Bay Yacht Club and Ocean Blvd. You will not use this area for launching or extracting your boat before, during, or after the event. You will launch or return your boat via wheel mast up from the designated parking lot through the MAIN GATE of Alamitos Bat Yacht Club to the launch ramp only.



The U.S. Multihull Championship is one of several prestigious championships hosted by US Sailing and sailed in selected one-design class boats.The perpetual trophy was presented and named the Alter Trophy in 1986 in honor of Hobie Alter, Sr. and his extraordinary promotion of one-design multihull sailing and racing programs.


Championship Facts

  • The event is sailed in a different multihull class each year.
  • 2020 Event sailed in F18 Catamaran
  • This is a bring your own boat event.
  • The championship is an open event(there is no selection process).
  • Membership in US Sailing is required at all levels of competition for U.S. citizens and resident- aliens.
  • Other nationalities must be members of their National Governing Body.





2019 U.S. Multihull Championship Photo Credit: Leon Kanopka
2019 US Multihull Championship

Championship History

The U.S. Multihull Championship for the Hobie Alter Trophy has become one of the nation’s major sailing championships, having featured world champions from numerous classes, Olympic medalists and several national champions from the multihull ranks.

The U.S. Multihull Championship was conceived by the Multihull Council in the spring of 1985 as a service to multihull racing sailors. It is intended to determine a U.S. national multihull champion and is sailed annually in various types of multihulls.

Originally the championship had the good fortune of having manufacturers provide new boats including Hobie, Inter, Nacra, Prindle, Mystere and Bimare classes but in 2013, the decision was made to rotate it each year through the various classes of catamarans to better represent the depth of multihull sailing in the United States.