2021 U.S. Multihull Championship

Event Details

November 1, 2021 – November 5, 2021

Event will be sailed as the 2021 Championship Hosted by Formula Wave Class & Corpus Christi YC
Corpus Christi, Texas

Competing for:

Thank You National Sponsors

Results & Reports

Regatta Documents

Other Information

Previous Winners

  • 2019 – Matt Bounds- Hobie 14
  • 2018 – Randy Smyth-  Weta Trimaran
  • 2017 – Phil Collins-  Hobie 17
  • 2016 – Ken Marshack, Valarie Pioszak-  Hobie 18
  • 2015 – Michael Easton, Tripp Burd- Formula 18
  • 2014 – Lars Guk- A Cat
  • 2013 – Enrique Figueroa, Carla Malatrasi- Hobie 16
  • 2012 – Sarah Newberry, Kenny Pierce- Formula 16
  • 2011 – Matt Struble, Damon Lacasella- Viper F16
  • 2010  – Pete Melvin, Nat Shaver- C2 F18
  • 2009 – John Casey, John Williams- Viper F16
  • 2008 – Nigel Pitt, Alex Shafer- F18
  • 2007 – John Casey, John Williams- Blade F16
  • 2006 – Robbie Daniel, Hunter Stunzi- Nacra 20 spi
  • 2005 – Greg Thomas, Jacques Bernier- Hobie Tiger spi
  • 2004 – Mike Montague, Kathy Ward Hobie- 16 no spi
  • 2003 – Matt Struble, W.F. Oliver Javelin- F18HT spi
  • 2002 – Matt Struble, Domonique Martin- Hobie Tiger spi
  • 2001 – Matt Struble, Mike Kletke- Inter 20 spi
  • 1999-2000 – Keith Christensen, Shala Youngerman- Hobie 20
  • 1998-1999 – Randy Smyth, Keith Notary- Nacra 6.0na
  • 1997-1998 – Pete Melvin, Roger Jenkins- Hobie 20
  • 1996 – Jeff Newsome, Sandra Tartaglino- Inter 18
  • 1995 – Randy Smyth, Jason Sneed- Hobie 20
  • 1994 – Bob Curry, Kirk Newkirk- Mystere 6.0
  • 1993 – Randy Smyth, Bert Rice- Nacra 5.5
  • 1992 – Lake Tahoe, CA Larry Suter, Nick Scandone- Hobie 20
  • 1991 – Carlton Tucker, Sean Donnelly- Prindle 19
  • 1990 – Randy Smyth, Glenn Purcell- Prindle 18-2
  • 1989 – Alan Egusa, Paul Parizeau- Hobie 21
  • 1988 – Carlton Tucker, Mary Alice Tucker- Hobie 18
  • 1987 – Carlton Tucker, Jarrett Melvin- Nacra 5.7


US Sailing Member Discounts: Travel, PFDs, Sunglasses, and more…

Hosting a US Sailing Championship

US Sailing Regulations Amended 2021-01-25

Waivers, Release of Liability, Code of Conduct and Medical Forms

About This Event

2021 U.S. Multihull Championship

Formula Wave Class & Corpus Christi Yacht Club

Corpus Christi, TX
November 1-5, 2021




NOR Posted: January 27, 2021

Register Here

Championship Waivers, Releases and Code of Conduct – All athletes must fill out a form prior to event date.

Entry List


For anyone looking to borrow a boat, you may contact a regatta organizer and they will make a reasonable effort to connect you with a local fleet or sailor who may have a boat available for charter. The regatta organizers make no guarantee that they will be able to find charters:

USMHC Chair Chris Wessels
USMHC Co Chair Ben Wells




The U.S. Multihull Championship is one of several prestigious championships hosted by US Sailing and sailed in selected one-design class boats.The perpetual trophy was presented and named the Alter Trophy in 1986 in honor of Hobie Alter, Sr. and his extraordinary promotion of one-design multihull sailing and racing programs.

Championship Facts

  • The event is sailed in a different multihull class each year.
  • 2021 Event will be sailed in Formula Wave Class boats
  • This is a bring your own boat event.
  • The championship is an open event(there is no selection process).
  • Membership in US Sailing is required at all levels of competition for U.S. citizens and resident- aliens.
  • Other nationalities must be members of their National Governing Body.


Championship History

The U.S. Multihull Championship for the Hobie Alter Trophy has become one of the nation’s major sailing championships, having featured world champions from numerous classes, Olympic medalists and several national champions from the multihull ranks.

The U.S. Multihull Championship was conceived by the Multihull Council in the spring of 1985 as a service to multihull racing sailors. It is intended to determine a U.S. national multihull champion and is sailed annually in various types of multihulls.

Originally the championship had the good fortune of having manufacturers provide new boats including Hobie, Inter, Nacra, Prindle, Mystere and Bimare classes but in 2013, the decision was made to rotate it each year through the various classes of catamarans to better represent the depth of multihull sailing in the United States.