US Sailing Names 2019 U.S. Youth Sailing Champions

2019 U.S. Youth Championship Winners (back to front, left to right): Mitchell Callahan (Miami, Fla.), Justin Callahan (Miami, Fla.), Tommy Styron (Hamden, Conn.), Chapman Petersen (Wilmette, Ill.), Sidney Charbonnet (Metairie, La.), Ben Rosenberg (East Greenwich, R.I.), Hayden Earl (Boston, Mass.), and Chase Carraway (Wrightsville Beach, N.C.)


BEACH HAVEN, N.J. (June 25, 2019) – After four days packed with racing on Little Egg Harbor, the 2019 U.S. Youth Sailing Championship winners have been decided.

Several sailors set the tone early to lead their fleets from the first race. Brothers, Justin and Mitchell Callahan (Miami, Fla.) dominated the i420 fleet all week. The pair finished first in eight of eleven races, and only finished one race outside the top three. In the 29er fleet, Hayden Earl (Boston, Mass.) and Tommy Styron (Hamden, Conn.) likewise led the pack from race one.

Nacra 15 team Ben Rosenberg (East Greenwich, R.I.) and Sidney Charbonnet (Metairie, La.) led the Nacra 15 fleet from day one. In varying conditions, keeping it simple was key for this team. “I really think keeping our heads out of the boat was big this week. We also had really good communication and kept it simple, just focusing on what we practiced,” said Charbonnet.

Her skipper, Rosenberg, also noted that having US Sailing Team athlete, Sarah Newberry, as a coach gave them an interesting perspective, “It was really cool to hear about her experience on the higher end, Olympic-level and be able to connect that to the youth stage of the sport.” Newberry is currently pursuing an Olympic campaign for 2020 in the Nacra 17. As one of the six US Sailing Fleet Coaches this week, she provided feedback for all of the sailors in the Nacra 15s.

While some sailors dominated early, the leaderboards in the two Laser fleets came down to the final races. In the full rig fleet, Chase Carraway (Wrightsville Beach, N.C.), stayed close behind until winning the final six races, putting himself six points ahead of the next closest competitor.

Chapman Petersen (Winnetka, Ill.) kept the spectators on their toes this morning by receiving a U-flag penalty in the first race of today. Heading into the final race, Petersen only had a one-point lead on the competition. He was able to finish first in the final race, securing his victory.

In addition to their gold medals, today’s winners will be taking home a new pair of Sperry Bionic shoes. Sportsmanship award winners will be taking home a pair of sunglasses provided by Hobie Polarized. As a national sponsor of US Sailing, Sperry and Hobie Polarized provide support to all 2019 U.S. Sailing Championships.

Barnegat Bay Yacht Racing Association (BBRYA) also contributed heavily to the event. The BBRYA lent thirteen Rib craft vessels to the Championship. Events like these require having several judges, coaches, and safety personnel on the water. Frequently, it is difficult for any one club to supply that number of Rib crafts.  Their generosity has allowed Little Egg Harbor Yacht Club, a member of the family of New Jersey yacht clubs, to support national amateur sailboat racing competitions, as well as actively develop and promote amateur athletes for the sport of sailboat racing.

Results – Top Three:


  1. Justin Callahan & Mitchell Callahan 13/1–1-2-[8]-1-3-1-1-1-1-1
  2. Oliver Hurwitz & Ethan Froelich 36/3-3-1-7-4-6-[DSQ-21]-3-2-2-5
  3. Will Michaels & Louise la Fontisee 46/6-[10]-3-2-5-1-6-9-3-9-2


  1. Chase Carraway 18/4-3-3-[5]-2-1-1-1-1-1-1
  2. Marcus Huttunen 24/1-2-1-1-3-[5]-2-5-4-2-3
  3. Caleb Yosov 26/2-1-2-[7]-1-2-3-4-2-7-2

Laser Radial

  1. Chapman Petersen 29/3-[6]-4-4-1-4-2-1-3-[UFD-40]-1
  2. Will Foox 32/1-1-1-14-2-1-[15]-4-1-4-3
  3. Connor Nelson 46/[26]-9-2-8-10-3-6-2-2-2-2

Nacra 15

  1. Ben Rosenberg & Sidney Charbonnett 18/1-1-1-1-[3]-3-2-1-1-2-1-1-1
  2. Jack Sutter & Charlotte Versavel 30/2-2-2-2-[6]-2-1-3-2-1-5-3-4
  3. J.J. Smith & Will Murray 36/4-3-3-[6]-1-1-3-3-2-3-4-2-2-5


  1. Hayden Earl & Tommy Styron 22/2-1-2-3-[8]-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-1-6
  2. Connor Boland & Garrett Dixon 50/5-2-1-7-1-3-[9]-4-7-6-4-3-2-5
  3. Griffin Gigliotti & Aidan Iaconis 56/[UFD-10]-6-8-4-9-4-4-2-2-3-2-2-3-7
Sportsmanship Award Winners of the David M. Perry Trophy
  • Radial – Natalie McCaffrey
  • Laser – Max Doane
  • i420 – Danny and Maddy Hughes
  • 29er – Hoel Menard
  • Nacra 15 – J.J. Smith
Full Scores and Coverage
  • Results
  • Entry List
  • For daily news coverage and recaps, click here.
  • For social media coverage, results and standings, and more information from the 2019 U.S. Youth Sailing Championships, please visit the event website.
  • For breaking news and real-time results from the water, follow @USSailing on Twitter or use #youthchamps19.
Live Blog

[le id=”2″]

US Sailing Media Contact: Brittney Manning, Communications Coordinator,

About US Sailing
The United States Sailing Association (US Sailing), the national governing body for sailing, provides leadership, integrity, and advancement for the sport in the United States. Founded in 1897 and headquartered in Bristol, Rhode Island, US Sailing is a 501(c) (3) non-profit organization. US Sailing offers training and education programs for instructors and race officials, supports a wide range of sailing organizations and communities, issues offshore rating certificates, and provides administration and oversight of competitive sailing across the country, including National Championships and the US Sailing Team. For more information, please visit