Chapman Petersen Wins U.S. Youth Match Racing Championship for the Rose Cup

SHEBOYGAN, WISC. (June 25, 2023) — The Rose Cup has a new champion: Chapman Petersen and his team of Luke Woodworth, Samara Walshe, and Tommy Sitzmann. Besting defending champion Morgan Pinckney in the final match, Petersen and the “All In” team earned their national championship title.

The key to success? “Trust in the boat,” said Petersen. “I was able to trust all three [of my teammates] with decisions that I didn’t even have to look at. We just focused on getting better every day.”

40 of the top match racers in the country between the ages of 16 to 21 went head-to-head June 21-25 on the waters of Lake Michigan. The Youth Match Racing Championship for the Rose Cup is an invitation-only event serving as a training ground and championship for the next generation of American match racers.

“You take a great group of sailors, and you teach them how to match race, and by day five, the level is super high,” said Petersen.

Dave Perry, a five-time U.S. Match Racing Champion, along with US Sailing Organizing Authority Ryan Davidson, led an Advanced Match Racing Clinic prior to racing. Sail Sheboygan together with Sheboygan Yacht Club fostered a highly organized event in eight equally tuned provided boats.

Second-place Pinckney was praised by his fellow competitors for his willingness to share his extensive match racing knowledge. The podium was rounded out by recent ICSA Team Race National Champion Justin Callahan.

“It’s exciting to see enthusiasm for this part of the sport continuing to thrive,” said Whitney Kent, Sheboygan Youth Sailing Center Program Director. “We had a great time hosting a high-quality event for these young sailors. The future of the race for the Rose Cup is in great hands with Ryan Davidson.”

All competitors cast a vote for the highly regarded Nick Scandone Sportsmanship Award. Exhibiting the Corinthian spirit all weekend long, Michael Kirkman, Dougie Cowan, Sophia Hacket, and Ryan Hexter received a standing ovation as they accepted the award.