U.S. Match Racing Championship

U.S. Match Racing Championship

Event Details

October 19 – October 21, 2018

Chicago Yacht Club and Chicago Match Racing Center, Chicago, Illinois

Competing for:

Thank You National Sponsors

Regatta Documents

Results & Reports

Previous Winners

2017 – Sewanhaka Yacht Club – David Storrs, Hayden Goodrich, Laurie Jury, Sam Bell, Tom Powrie

2016 – San Diego Yacht Club – Nevin Snow, Nick Kaschak, Alex Curtiss, Peter Busch

2015 – Pequot Yacht Club – Dave Perry, Doug McLean, Steve Natvig, Jon Singsen, Chris Museler

2014  – Chicago Match Race – Nathan Hollerbach,Taylor Canfield, Mike Rehe, Maggie Shea

2013  – Pequot Yacht Club – David Dellenbaugh, Rebecca Dellenbaugh, Janel Zarkowsky, Amanda Callahan

2012 – Chicago Match Race – Taylor Canfield, Stephanie Roble, Maggie Shea, Janel Zarkowsky

2011 – Pequot Yacht Club – Dave Perry, Mike Rehe, Chris Museler

2010 – St Francis Yacht Club – Shawn Bennett, Melissa Purdy Feagin, Tom Purdy, Adam Roberts

2009 – Chicago Match Race Center – William Hardesty, David Hughes, David Gerber

2008 – Pequot Yacht Club – Dave Perry, David Moffet ,Chris Museler

2007 – King Harbor YC – Brian Angel, Payson Infelise, Mike Delanty

2006 – Pequot Yacht Club – Dave Perry, Chris Museler, Terry Flynn

2005 – King Harbor Yacht Club – Brian Angel, Payson Infelise, David Hochart

2004 – Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club – Karl Ziegler, Dean Brenner, Mike Welch

2003 – Bayview YC – Nathan Hollerbach, Mathew Shirilla, Michael Hoey

2002 – Pequot YC- David Dellenbaugh, Doug Clark, Ralf Steitz

2001 – Watch Hill YC – Mason Woodworth, Dean Brenner, Randy Shore

2000 – Watch Hill YC – Mason Woodworth, Dean Brenner, Randy Shore

1999 – Watch Hill YC – Mason Woodworth, Dean Brenner, Randy Shore

1998 – Davis Island YC – Jeff Linton, Tom Barry, Mike Gable

1997 – Naval Academy Sailing Squadron – Brad Dellenbaugh, Ned Jones, John Grierson

1996 – San Diego, CA – Southwestern YC – Tim Wadlow, Roger Floyd, Preston Holdner

1995 – St. Francis YC, San Francisco, CA – Morgan Larson, Seadon Wijsen, Brandon Paine

1994 – Larchmont YC – Ben Cesare, John Savage, Phil Lotz

1993 – San Diego YC – Rick Merriman, Chuck Simmons, Casey Schnoor

1992 – Southern YC – John Lovell, John Killeen, Preston Christman

1991 – St. Petersburg YC – Chris Larson, Martin Kullman, Howard Miller

1990 – Newport Harbor YC – Scott Mason, Jamie Hardenbergh, Bill Menninger

1989 – Newport Harbor YC – Doug Rastello, Scott Mason, Skip Beck

1988 – St. Francis YC – Mark Rastello, Chris Perkins, Jim Barton

1987 – San Diego YC – Mark Reynolds, Andy LaDow, Donald Wyatt

1986 – Bay-Waveland YC – Marc Eagan, Dennis Stieffel, Randy Santa Cruz

1985 – Alamitos Bay YC – Mark Golison, Bruce Golison, Ron Rosenberg

1984 – Pequot YC – Dave Dellenbaugh, W.B. Peale, John Wallace

1983 – Rush Creek YC – Bruce Golison, Jay Golison, Steve Grillon

1982 – Yale Corinthian YC – Dave Perry, Peter Worcester, Tom Kinney

1981 – Seabrook SC – Marvin Beckman, Mike Smith, Chuck Wilk

1980 – Seattle YC – Jonathan McKee, Carl Buchan, Mike Smith, Chuck Wilk

1979 – St. Petersburg YC – John W. Jennings, Don Krippendorf, John M. Jennings

1978 – Galveston Bay CA – Marvin Beckman, Skipper

1977 – Coronado YC – Ed Trevelyan, Skipper

1976 – Coronado YC – Ed Trevelyan, Skipper

1975 – California YC – Kenneth M. Young, Skipper

1974 – Noroton YC – William S. Cox, John Rousmaniere, Andrew A. Scholtz

1973 – MIT Nautical Assn. – Stephen Cucchiaro, Skipper

1972 – Newport Harbor YC – Tim Hogan, Skipper

1971 – MIT Nautical Assn. – Terry Cronberg, Skipper

1970 – St. Petersburg YC – John W. Jennings, Skipper

1969 – Quissett YC – E.M. Burt, Prince Sears Crowell, III, Browne Morgan Littel

1968 – Newport Harbor YC – Burke Sawyer, Skipper

1967 – Newport Harbor YC – Scott Alan, Skipper

Other Information


Match Racing News, Resources & Information

Bylaws and Regulations

USMRC Qualifier Series 2018

Request Invitation to USMRC Qualifier Series

Match/Team Racing Race Management Personnel Submission

About This Event

2017 Marked the 50th Anniversary of the historic and highly competitive U.S. Match Racing Championship.

Match Racing in the U.S. is seeing a resurgence with ten teams competing. Selection is done through U.S. Match Racing Qualifying events, or by invitation from the selection committee based on many factors including ranking. Each member of the crew must be a member of US Sailing and of a sailing organization that is a US Sailing member, except that participants from other countries shall either be members of US Sailing or be members of their ISAF recognized national authority for sailing.

The event will consist of the following stages: Stage 1 – Preliminary Round Robin Racing Stage 2 – Semi-Final/Final Knock-out Series

The winning team comprised of 100 percent U.S. citizens will earn the title of U.S. Match Racing National Champion and will qualify to represent the United States in the Open Division at World Sailing’s 2018 Nations Cup Regional Qualifier, an international match racing championship.

The overall winning team, regardless of team members’ nationality, will earn the Prince of Wales Bowl and automatically qualify for next year’s U.S. Match Racing Championship.

Qualifying Series




2017 U.S. Match Racing Championship