2019 U.S. Offshore Championship

U.S. Offshore Championship

Event Details

September 27, 2019 – September 29, 2019

Naval Academy Sailing Squadron
Annapolis, Maryland

Competing for:

Thank You Local Sponsor

Results & Reports

Regatta Documents

Other Information

Previous Winners

  • 2021 –   Steve Travis – Seattle, WA
  • 2019 – Jonathan Hitt – Annapolis, MD/ U.S. Naval Academy
  • 2017 – Brian Kennalley – Chicago, IL
  • 2015 – Bruce Kuryla – Milford, CT
  • 2013 – Steve Travis – Mercer Island, WA
  • 2011 – Bruce Kuryla – Milford, CT
  • 2009 – Bruce Kuryla – Milford, CT
  • 2008 – Rick Strilky – Chicago, IL 
  • 2007 – Chuck Nichols – San Diego, CA
  • 2006 – Robert Hobbs – Tampa, FL
  • 2005 – Greg Storer – Branford, CT/ U.S. Naval Academy
  • 2004 – Marc Eagan – Metairie, LA
  • 2003 – Hank Stuart – Rochester, NY
  • 2002 – Scott Sonnier – Southern YC, LA
  • 2001 – John Hoag – Normandy Park, WA
  • 2000 – Keith Ives – Alamitos Bay Yacht Club, CA
  • 1999 – John Leitzinger – Tacoma, WA
  • 1998 – Mark Noble – Santa Barbara, CA
  • 1997 – Scott Sonnier – New Orleans, LA
  • 1996 – Keith Ives – Alamitos Bay YC, CA
  • 1995 – John R. White – Annapolis YC, MD
  • 1994 – Robert Hughes – Macatawa Bay YC, MI
  • 1993 – William “Sledd” Shelhorse – Hampton YC, VA
  • 1992 – Roy Disney – Los Angeles YC, CA
  • 1991 – Steve Garland – Hingham YC, MA
  • 1990 – Charlie Scott – Annapolis, MD
  • 1989 – Charlie Scott – Annapolis, MD
  • 1988 – Mason Chrisman – Charleston YC, SC
  • 1987 – Buddy Friedrichs – Gulf YA
  • 1986 – Lee Demarest – Houston YC, TX


USSA Member Discount Travel Opportunities

About This Event

Competitor List

2019 3 Day Boat Rotation

Official 2019 Offshore Results
2019 NOR  NOR Amendment 1
2019 SI’s   SI Amendment 1

Special Flag Halyard Pole (RC-Signal Boat)

SERs – 3.1.1, 3.1.2. and 3.1.4.

Click here for more weather access and updates

TIdal Currents Annapolis

Waivers/Forms *each sailor is to fill out and bring with them to check in day or email to

The U.S. Offshore Championship is a fleet racing competition in offshore keelboats on a closed course except for one long-distance race.

Teams representing each of the US Sailing Areas are seeded through Area eliminations or by sailing resume, plus one U.S. Naval Academy team. Each team must have competed in at least five regattas in IRC, ORC, ORR, PHRF, Offshore One Design, Offshore Level Class Racing, or Portsmouth Numbers rating systems in its respective Area during the current season.

Championship Facts

  • Nomination and Selection- Each of the eleven US Sailing Areas may nominate at least one team to represent their Area. Individual teams may also submit resumes to US Sailing for consideration independent of the Area Director. Area candidates must apply by resume application and include full race results from the qualifying races, his/her own experience and that of the crew for the current season and submit a non-refundable application fee. Applications must be received prior to July 1 in the year of the event.
  • A minimum of five of each competitors’ team must have raced together (including the designated skipper) in at least five regattas in IRC, ORC, ORR, PHRF, Offshore One Design, Offshore Level Class Racing or Portsmouth Numbers rating systems in the past 18 months.
  • Should issues on last minute substitution(at check in or during the regatta) of crew raise eligibility questions, the Protest Committee shall make the final decision on eligibility. All other substitution requests(after registration is complete and prior to check in) be addressed to the Selection Committee.
  • Up to nine (9) teams may enter, plus one (1) U.S. Naval Academy team.
  • There is no weight limit for this regatta.
  • Each team shall consist of a crew of eight including one skipper and six crew members plus one U.S. Naval Academy Midshipman provided from the varsity offshore racing team.



2019 U.S. Offshore Championship
2019 U.S. Offshore Championship

Championship History

Lloyd Phoenix graduated from the United States Naval Academy, class of 1861. He served in the Civil War and witnessed the battle between the Monitor and the Virginia in 1865.

After resigning and going into business he became a yachting enthusiast and Rear Commodore of the New York Yacht Club. In his most famous yacht, the 171 ft. schooner, Intrepid, he won the Club’s 1909 “The Cruise” Trophy which was discovered in 1960 in a storage locker by Shirley Engle, wife of Capt. Aubrey D. Engle, CO of the Naval Station.

Capt. Aubrey arranged for the Naval Academy Sailing Squadron to put up the trophy in honor of Lloyd Phoenix as a means of improving relations with the civilian yachting community by bringing sailors from Chesapeake Bay yacht clubs to compete with a midshipmen team in the Luders yawls. When the USYRU Offshore Council sanctioned a national championship for offshore yachts in 1985, the Trophy was offered by NASS for the first match which was held at the U.S. Naval Academy in the Luders yawls.

Former USYRU Executive Director, John Bonds, who had been Commodore of NASS, was instrumental in the reformatting of the event and it’s coming under the custody of USYRU as a national championship.

Since 1994, racing has alternated between the Naval Academy in the Navy 44s and Long Beach Yacht Club in Catalina 37’s. The Trophy is on display in the Robert Crown Center at the United States Naval Academy. The only three-time winning skipper is Bruce Kuryla from Connecticut.