U.S. Team Racing Championship

Event Details

September 27 – September 30, 2018

The Foundry, Cleveland, Ohio

Competing for:

Thank You National Sponsors

Regatta Documents

Results & Reports

Previous Winners

2017 – Team Jet Lag –  Mateo Vargas, Oliver Toole, Kevin Labe, Samantha Steele, Carolyn Kelly Ortel, Yuri Namikawa

2016 – Team Trouble – Charles Higgins, Arielle Darrow, Johnny Norfleet, Isabel Strachan, Matt Allen, Gabe Smith

2015  – Kirkwood Ticklers- Will Bailey, Sam Madden, Scott Sinks, Allison Ferraris, Raul Rios, Katja Sertl

2014 – Ladies and Gentlemen- Tyler Sinks, Lucy Wallace; Justin Law, Adrienne Patterson Kamilar, Michael Menninger, Ben Lezin

2013 – Ladies and Gentlemen- Justin Law, Michael Menninger, Adrienne Patterson, Lucy Wallace, Marla Menninger, Tyler Sinks

2012 – NYYC Team Extreme- Stuart McNay, Michael Hession, Zachary Brown, Emmet Smith, Thomas Barrows, Marla Menninger

2011 – Minor Threat – Cy Thompson, Kelly Stannard, Charlie Buckingham, Alex Taylor, Tyler Sinks, Lucy Wallace

2010 – NYYC Silver Panda – Amanda Callahan,Colin Merrick,Clay Bischoff, Caroline Hall Levesque , Peter Levesque,  Carrie Amarante

2009 – Team Extreme- Stuart McNay,Michael Hession;Zachary Brown; Emmet Smith ;Thomas Barrows; Marla Menninger

2008 – NYYC Silver Panda- Colin Merrick, Clay Bischoff, Amanda Callahan, Elizabeth Hall, Lisa Keith, Peter Levesque

2007 – NYYC Silver Panda- Colin Merrick, Clay Bischoff, Amanda Callahan, Elizabeth Hall, Lisa Keith, Peter Levesque

2006 – NYYC Silver Panda – Colin Merrick, Clay Bischoff, Amanda Callahan, Elizabeth Hall, Lisa Keith, Peter Levesque

2005 – Team Trouble – Mark Zagol, Matt Allen,  Brad Funk,  Anna Tunnicliffe, Heather Pescatello,  Timothy Cain

2004  – Cape Cod WHishbone – Timothy Fallon, Mark Ivey, Timothy Wadlow, Karen Renzulli, Matt Lindblad, Erin Largay

2003 – Cape Cod WHishbone –  Timothy Fallon, Graeme Woodworth, John Fallon, Karen Renzull, Matt Lindblad, Erin Largay

2002 – NYYC Silver Panda–Peter Levesque/Elizabeth Hall, Patrick Hogan/Carlos Lenz, Colin Merrick/John Cline

2001 – Spinnaker 1–Stuart Hudson/Sally Cuthbert, Steve Tylecote/Debs Kershaw, Dominic Johnson/Amy Smith

2000 – New York Yacht Club–Chris McDowell/Brandon Prior, Karl Zeigler/Chris Museler, Mike Zani/Mike Huang

1999 – New York Yacht Club–Chris McDowell/Brendan Prior, Karl Ziegler/Chris Museler, Bill Hardesty/Abby Woodworth

1998 – Cosmos–Josh Adams/Victoria Wadsworth , Nick Trotman/Brett Davis , Mark Mendleblatt/Suzannah Kerr

1997 – Bristol Bandits–Zach Leonard/Megan Bohlen, Brian Doyle/Richard Feeney, Pete Alarie/Heidi Thomas

1996 – Pablo Picasso–Zach Leonard/Megan Bohlen, Josh Adams/Laura Dunn, Pete Alarie/Julie Kirschbaum

1995 – Wicked Tired Tongue–Mike Zani/Elizabeth Kratzig, Karl Ziegler/Tara Callahan

1994 – Air Hesus–Doug Clark/Heidi Thoma, David Fagen/Greg McConnell, Ryan Cox/Sean Fujimoto

1993 – Best of West–James Malm/Stephanie Keefe, Kevin Hall/Tara Wolcott, Nick Adamson/Danny Zimbaldi

1992 – James Gang–Zach Leonard/Megan Bohlen, Mike Zani/Blaire Largay, Kevin Hall/Jenna Cook

1991 – Area D–David Mendelblatt/Caj Flynn, Mark Mendelblatt/Mitchell Rogers, Bill Schoenberg/John Jennings

1990 – Area A–Zach Leonard/Andy David, Mike Zani/Bradford Gibbs, Kevin Hall/Jenna Cook

1989 – Area A–Brian Keane/Lynn Fitzpatrick, Gordon Burnes/Sarah Burns, Jim Bowers/Jeffrey Binder

1988 – Area A–Brad Dellenbaugh/David Beningson, Kevin Hall/Beau LeBlanc, John Kolius/Pierce Owens

1987 – Area A–Brad Dellenbaugh/Lisi Crowther, Jamie Cummiskey/Kassie Cundey, Steve MacGillivray/Cara Moore

1986 – Area J–Jack Franco/Renee Vesterby, Dave Ullman/Kenny Watts, Chris Raab/Pat Muglia

1985 – Area D–Marc Eagan/Mac Hadden, Dennis Stieffel/Rene Dupaquier, Keith Crum/Corky Hadden

1984 – Area G–Pede Dickey/Chris Steinfeld, Jack Franco/Renee Vesterby, Chris Raab/Lisa Gosselin

1983 – Area A–Ed Adams/Meredith Adams, Scott Ferguson/Bill Shoemaker, Stu Johnstone/Ralph Kinder

1982 – Area B–Peter Isler/Curt Oetking, Steve Benjamin/John Clark, Dave Dellenbaugh/Paul Murphy

1981 – Area E–Terry McLaughlin/Carolyn Brodsky, Jeff Boyd/Peter Jones, Tam Matthews/Jay Cross

Other Information


Information for Competitors

New Option for Entry- New Qualifying Events

420E Charter Form US Sailing Hinman

420E Spec Sheet

About This Event

The U.S. Team Racing Championship is raced in three-boat/six-person teams.  US Sailing’s first national team racing championship, it was held in 1981 and serves as a qualifier for the ISAF Team Racing Worlds when held.

Growing out of a regatta initiated by Sailing World magazine it was so successful that it was adopted by US Sailing and became known as the U.S. Team Racing Championship for the George R. Hinman Trophy.

The trophy was donated in recognition of George R. Hinman’s many years of service and contributions to yachting. He was a member of the crew that won the second championship for the Sears Cup, a top ranking sailor in the International One-Design Class and for many years in the forefront of Long Island Sound frostbite dinghy racing. He sailed many ocean races and took part in the America’s Cup in various capacities as helmsman, syndicate manager and chairman of the America’s Cup (selection) Committee. A former President of NAYRU (now US Sailing), he also was a Vice President of the International Yacht Racing Union (now ISAF).

The first umpired event was in 1990 and the event went away from being a ladder qualification regatta. When Gary Bodie became Chairman of the U.S. Team Racing Championship Committee in 1992, he restored the popularity of the event making it the hottest event in the country for the post-collegiate group of sailors which it remains today.

Championship Facts

  • 420E – Doublehanded, monohull dinghies with a mainsail and jib, manufactured by Zim Sailing will be provided by US Sailing
  • Each competing team shall consist of three skippers and three crews
  • Up to 12 teams will be selected by the U.S. Team Racing Championship Committee from team resumes and applications. Up to two non‐US teams may be invited to compete




2017 U.S. Team Racing Championship