US Sailing Board of Directors Elect Bruce Burton as President

Bruce+BurtonDALLAS, Texas (October 23, 2015) – The US Sailing Nominating Committee named new members of the National Governing Body’s Board of Directors, who elected Bruce Burton (Grosse Pointe Farms, Mich.) as the next President of US Sailing. The decisions became official on Thursday at US Sailing’s Annual Meeting in Dallas at the Homewood Suites by Hilton. Cory Sertl (Rochester, N.Y.) was elected Vice President of US Sailing.

The US Sailing President serves one three-year term. Previous US Sailing President Thomas Hubbell (Delaware, Ohio) has led the organization since November of 2012.

The newly elected Officers of US Sailing’s Board of Directors include Martine Zurinskas (Alpharetta, Ga.) as Secretary, Steve Freitas (Grosse Pointe Farms, Mich.) as Treasurer, and Gary Gilbert (Oakton, Va.) as Select Director. These officers were nominated by new President Bruce Burton and elected to their positions by the Board of Directors on Thursday.

New board members Richard Jepsen (Alameda, Calif.) and Ron White (South Bend, Ind.), and incumbents Jim Walsh (Brick, N.J.) and JJ Fetter (San Diego, Calif.) have been elected to serve a three-year term. Sally Barkow (Nashotah, Wis.) was elected to serve a one-year term.

US Sailing will be publishing interviews with the new president and board members in the coming weeks.

US Sailing Media Contact: Jake Fish,

About US Sailing
The United States Sailing Association (US Sailing), the national governing body for sailing, provides leadership, integrity, and growth for the sport in the United States. Founded in 1897 and headquartered in Portsmouth, Rhode Island, US Sailing is a 501(c) (3) non-profit organization. US Sailing offers training and education programs for instructors and race officials, supports a wide range of sailing organizations and communities, issues offshore rating certificates, and provides administration and oversight of competitive sailing across the country, including National Championships and the US Sailing Team Sperry. For more information, please visit