Awards & Trophies

Gay S. Lynn Memorial Trophy

The Gay S. Lynn Memorial Trophy is awarded to a person, volunteer or professional, or to an organization, that is selected by the Para Sailing Committee, as having made an outstanding contribution to disabled sailors and the sport of adaptive sailing over a sustained period of time.

The late Gay S. Lynn was a major supporter of adaptive sailing for many, promoting the sport and letting sailors with disabilities know that they still had much to look forward to. In addition, Gay’s late husband Bill was a past President of US Sailing and their son Bill, is an active sailor–both offshore and one-design-is a past North American and World Sonar Champion.

This is the highest award given by the Para Sailing Committee and is presented either at the Sailing Leadership Forum or National Sailing Programs Symposium.

Nomination URL

To make a nomination for this Award, please visit: Nomination Link

Previous Award Recipients

  • 2017 – Judy Clagett McLennan
  • 2016 – Rick Doerr
  • 2015 – Jen French & Warrior Sailing Program
  • 2014 – Arthur O’Neill
  • 2013 – Magnus Liljedahl
  • 2012 – Harry R. Horgan & Shake-A-Leg Miami
  • 2011 – Matthew Chao
  • 2010 – Linda Merkle
  • 2009 – Betsy Alison
  • 2008 – Hugh Elliot
  • 2007 – Keith Burhans
  • 2006 – Urban Miyares
  • 2005 – Gene Hinkel
  • 2004 – Robie Pierce
  • 2003 – Judd Goldman Sailing Foundation & Peter Goldman