
into depth in areas which commonly cause the most problems or raise the most

questions. As a result, this reference will also be extremely useful to sailors

serving as judges on a protest committee. The most useful appeals and cases

are quoted or referenced with the discussion of each rule; and each discussion

goes into sufficient depth to provide the answers or at least the guidelines to

resolve most protests or questions which come up. Both competitors and judges

will find the extensive use and reference to the appeals and cases very useful

and timesaving when they are either lodging a protest or trying to resolve one

in the hearing.

NOTE: At the time this book was published, World Sailing had not yet

completed their revisions of their Case Book; therefore the quotes from the

cases may not be 100% accurate. I expect that the substance of the interpre-

tations are accurate, but encourage you to double-check the actual cases. You

can find both the Appeals and the Case books at: ussailing.org/competition/

rules-offiating/appeals. 

I wish to point out that my opinions expressed in this book are my personal

opinions, and not those of the US Sailing Appeals Committee of which I am a

member.

It is nearly impossible to race sailboats without getting involved in some

rules-related situations, whether it’s in a crowded mark rounding, a protest

hearing, a measurement problem, or an appeal. It is my hope that this book,

which blends the rules and the appeals and cases together, will answer most of

your rules questions and expand your knowledge and awareness of what is in

the US Sailing Appeals and World Sailing Cases so that you can continue to

satisfy your own rules curiosity into the future, and feel confident that you in

fact do understand the rules yourself.

This book will be published every four years with the revisions of The Racing

Rules of Sailing. As it is my goal to provide a useful and accurate reference for

all sailors, I welcome your comments and suggestions concerning improvements

and inaccuracies. Please send them to my attention by May 1, 2028, or sooner

at: 239 Barberry Road, Southport, CT 06890.

And now, enjoy your understanding of the rules!

Good Sailing, 

Dave Perry
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R U L E  1 4  —  A V O I D I N G  C O N T A C T

If reasonably possible, a boat shall

(a) avoid contact with another boat, 

(b) not cause contact between boats, and 

(c) not cause contact between a boat and an object that should be avoided. 

However, a right-of-way boat, or one sailing within the room or mark-room

to which she is entitled, need not act to avoid contact until it is clear that the

other boat is not keeping clear or giving room or mark-room.

This is a very strong rule regarding contact. It talks to all boats in a race,

including right-of-way boats, and tells them to avoid any contact whatsoever

if reasonably possible, and not to cause any contact. The intent of the rule is

to minimize the amount of collisions that occur during a race, and particularly

the intentional ones. Collisions can be dangerous, expensive, frustrating to all

sailors, and particularly intimidating to newcomers and novice sailors. They

are not part of the sport.

When two or more boats converge, the possibility of contact exists. The

rules clearly assign the right of way and the requirement to keep clear or to give

room or mark-room in each situation where boats could hit. Furthermore,

when one boat is required to keep clear, the other shouldn’t do anything to

make the situation more dangerous. Rule 14 makes it clear that the right-of-

way boat or one entitled to room or mark-room can hold her course until it

becomes “clear” that the other boat is not going to keep clear or give room or

mark- room. At that moment, however, the right-of-way boat or one entitled

to room must take action herself to avoid contact if reasonably possible. For

instance, when a port-tack boat is crossing a starboard-tack boat, if S holds

her course and hits P, with no attempt to avoid the contact, P has broken rules

10 (On Opposite Tacks) and 14(a), and S has broken rule 14(a) (see Case 123

and Appeal 92).

However, rule 43.1(c), Exoneration, states that a right-of-way boat or one

sailing within the room or mark-room to which she is entitled is exoner -

ated (freed from penalty) if the contact does not cause “damage or injury.”

“Damage” is what a boat suffers; “injury” is what a person suffers (see Case

110). Therefore, if the contact causes no physical damage or injury to any

boat or person, the right-of-way boat or the one sailing within the room or
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mark-room to which she is entitled can be found to have broken rule 14 but

cannot be penalized for doing so (see rule 43.2, Exoneration). 

On the other hand, if there is any damage or injury at all to any boat or

person involved in the incident, no matter how slight, and regardless of

whether the damage or injury has any effect on the speed or handling of the

boat or whether the damage or injury was to the right-of-way boat, the right-

of-way boat or the boat sailing within the room or mark-room to which she

is entitled will be penalized if it was found that it was reasonably possible for

them to have avoided the contact. 

Note that if the keep-clear boat fails to avoid contact, she technically can

be disqualified under this rule; however, this is a moot point because she will

be disqualified under the Section A rule she broke, and a boat can only be

disqualified once in a race. Likewise, if she took a penalty for breaking one or

more rules in the incident, she cannot be further penalized under rule 60.5(c);

see rule 60.5(c)(2) (Protest Decisions).

“If I’m involved in contact that causes damage or injury, can I take a

Two-Turns Penalty or Scoring Penalty (put up a yellow flag) to avoid

disqualification?”

If there is just “damage,” then Yes! But if anyone got “injured” or if the dam-

age was “serious,” then No! Rule 44.1 (Penalties at the Time of an Incident)

permits a boat that may have broken any rule in Part 2 while racing to take

a penalty at the time of the incident. The penalty is the Two-Turns Penalty

unless the sailing instructions specify the use of some other penalty (rule 44.1).

So if you are a right-of-way boat or an inside boat entitled to mark-room and

you cause damage in an incident, you can quickly do two turns in the same

direction including two tacks and gybes and continue in the race. If you are

the keep-clear boat, you can also do two turns which absolves you of all Part

2 and rule 31 (Touching a Mark) rule breaches you may have committed in

the incident (even if you broke more than one rule in the incident; see rules

44.1 and 60.5(c)(2), Protest Decisions). 

There are two exceptions however. Rule 44.1(b) says, “if the boat caused

injury or serious damage or, despite taking a penalty, gained a significant

advantage in the race or series by her breach her penalty shall be to retire.”

In other words, you can’t absolve yourself with a Two-Turns Penalty if anyone
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