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1) what’s a “match race”? 

 

It’s a race between just two boats. 

 

2) what color are the two boats assigned? 

 

Yellow and Blue. 

 

3) where does each boat need to be at 4:00 minutes before their start? 

 

Outside their assigned end of the starting line (Yellow outside the RC Boat and Blue outside the Pin). 

 

4) what does each boat need to do between 4:00 and 2:00 minutes to their start? 

 

Completely cross the starting line from the windward side to the leeward side of the starting line. 

 

5) if each boat stays on the same tack after entering, and then goes head to wind next to the other boat (has a 

Dial Up), which boat has the right of way? 

 

The boat on the right (Yellow) has the right of way because she is on starboard tack and Blue is on port tack. 

 

6) if the boats have a Dial Up, what does the boat on the left need to do to get the right of way over the boat on 

the right? 

 

Blue needs to bear away to a close-hauled course on starboard tack. 

 

7) what’s the point of the pre-start maneuvering? 

 

Be on the starting line on time and at speed, be on the desired side of the other boat (right or left), and not get a 

penalty. 

 

8) what are four different positions the two boats can be in at the starting signal? 

 

a) Close to Leeward 

b) Windward with a Gap 

c) Split start 

d) Crush 

 

9) in general, what’s the most powerful side of the other boat to be on upwind? downwind? 

 

Upwind – the right side 

Downwind – the left side (looking downwind) 

 

 

 

 

 



10)  if you get one penalty, when do you have to take it? 

 

Anytime you want to take it, but you cannot finish until you have taken it (you can cross the finishing line, but 

you will not have “finished” if you have not taken your penalty). 

 

11) where is the best place to take your penalty on: 

 

Leg 3 (usually upwind penalty)?  

 

On the starboard-tack layline 

 

Leg 4 (usually downwind penalty)? 

 

Just after exiting the zone of the windward mark, or at the finishing line 

 

12) is there any way to get rid of your penalty without taking it? 

 

Yes. If the other boat gets a penalty, it cancels your penalty. 

 

13) if you have a penalty and get a second one, what does that mean? 

 

You have to take the second penalty right away. 

 

14) if you get a penalty and it comes with a red flag from the umpire boat, what does that mean? 

 

You have to take the penalty right away. 

 

15) if you are on starboard tack sailing upwind and the other boat is on port and trying to duck (pass astern of) 

you, are you allowed to hunt (aim at them) to prevent them from ducking? If so, how far down can you 

turn? 

 

Yes. You can bear away to 90 degrees from the true wind in order to try to block the port-tack boat from 

ducking you. 

 

16) if you are sailing downwind (not in the zone of a mark) and the other boat is to windward of you, is there 

ever a time when you aren’t allowed to sail above your proper course? 

 

No. Rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course, is deleted in match racing. 

 

17) how fast can you luff a boat to windward of you? how far can you turn? 

 

As fast as you want as long as the windward boat is able to keep clear of you if she also luffs when you luff. But 

if she has a spinnaker up, when it collapses, the leeward boat must give her room to drop it before continuing to 

luff. 

 

18) how much room do you have to give an inside boat at the leeward mark? 

 

An outside boat has to give an inside boat room to sail her proper course until the mark is astern of her. 

 

19) how many boat lengths is the zone?  

 

Two. 


