

# Minutes

# Annual Meeting & Virtual Town Hall

Sat November 7th, 2020

② 11:00am - 1:00pm EST

♥ Zoom/ Starboard Portal

## In Attendance

Charlie Arms, Henry Brauer, Meredith Brody, Bruce Burton, Clerc Cooper, Jack Gierhart, Rich Jepsen, Russ Lucas, Dave Perry, Katie Pettibone, Briana Provancha, Tony Rey, Bill Ruh, Judge Ryan, John Schoendorf, Cory Sertl, Maggie Shea, Martine Zurinskas

## Annual Meeting

Full recorded session: https://youtu.be/5cjQql0U-Vk (https://youtu.be/5cjQql0U-Vk)

#### a. Call to Order and Roll Call

Excused: Dave Perry

# **II. Announcements - President's Report**

Cory Sertl welcomed everyone to US Sailing's Virtual Annual Meeting.

# **III. CEO and Association Report**

Jack Gierhart gave a brief update on the state of US Sailing and the challenges the organization faced with COVID and the pivots that have been made with the help of members and volunteers throughout the year to ensure the organization stayed financially secure. He gave a brief update on the upcoming event schedule with a virtual coaching symposium scheduled to occur beginning of December and a weekly virtual NSPS kicking off in February.

# IV. CFO Report

Update of the financials of the organization and overview of the year which included a budget adjustment in early summer to reflect the challenges of the year.

#### V. Elections of New Board Members

## a. Nominated Board Members: Russ Lucas, Tony Rey & Bill Ruh

Introduction of the Nomination Committee Slate:

- Tony Rey incumbent, nominated for a 3-year term
- Rich Lucas incumbent, nominated for a 3-year term
- Bill Ruh incumbent, nominated for a 1-year term

#### **Election Process:**

- Nominations from the floor, none.
- Certified election results from online election

**Decision:** Motion #1 to approve, unanimously approved the slate as

presented.

# b. US Sailing Representatives to the USOPC AAC - Maggie Shea & Judge Ryan

Maggie Shea and Judge Ryan have been elected by the Sailor Athlete Council to serve as the US Sailing Representative and Alternate to the USOPC Athletes' Advisory Council. Per approved bylaws changes made during November's Board meeting, these representatives will fill two seats on the Board of Directors in order to increase the athlete voice on the Board.

## VI. Recognition of Retiring Board Member - Bruce Burton & Dave Perry

Cory recognized retiring board members Bruce Burton and Dave Perry. She is grateful that they will continue to serve US Sailing with Dave Perry continuing his role as Chair of Appeals Committee and Bruce Burton serving on the Nominating Committee.

# VII. Adjourn Annual Meeting

Motion to Adjourn at 11:25 am.

# VIII. November New-Board Meeting

#### a. Call to Order and Roll Call

Cory Sertl welcomed new Board members Maggie Shea and Judge Ryan to the Board.

#### b. Vice President for 2021

Cory Sertl nominated Rich Jepsen to serve another term as Vice President for 2021.

**Decision:** Vote #1 Motion to approve, unanimously approved.

#### c. Committee Chair Approval

**Decision:** Vote #2 Motion to approve, unanimously approved.

# IX. Adjourn November New-Board Meeting

Motion to Adjourn at 11:33 am.

X. Live Starboard Portal - Virtual Town Hall: Noon - 1 pm Full recorded session: https://youtu.be/5cjQql0U-Vk (https://youtu.be/5cjQql0U-Vk)								

# 2020 US Sailing Committee Chair and Members

### **Board OVERSIGHT & Administration**

Committee	Staff Liaison	Position	Nominees	Started	Athlete	Extend	BoD Approved
Audit	Heather Monoson	Chair - Board Member	Clerc Cooper	3/2020	В		11/20
Bylaws	Justin Sterk	Chair	Clark Chapin	10/18			11/20
Legal Committee	Jack Gierhart	Chair	Edward J. Dailey				11/20
Compensation	Heather Monoson	Chair	Henry Brauer				11/20
Review Board	Justin Sterk	Chair	Jim Walsh		С		11/20
Sailor Athlete Council	Kate Drummey		Clerc Cooper	11/19	В		11/20
Governanace & Ethics	Justin Sterk	Past Pres-Chair	Tom Hubbell	10/18/2018			11/20
Nominating	Katie Alley	Expiring Board Member	Martine Zurinskas	10/18/2018	В		11/20
Government Relations	Stu Gilfillen	Chair	Jim Muldoon	1990's		2	11/20
Diversity Equity and Inclusion	Besty Alison	Chair	Debrora Abrams-Wright	2019			11/20
Sportsmanship	Stu Gilfillen	chair	Caroline Atwood	10/22/2015			11/20

## **Adult Division**

Committee	Staff Liaison	Position	Nominees	Started	Athlete	Extend	BoD Approved
Cruising Committee	Betsy Alison	Chair	George Day	1/2013	Atmete	LAtenu	11/20
Match Racing	Besty Alison/Nancy Mazzulli	Chair	Pearson Potts	11/2020		-	11/20
Para Sailing Committee	Betsy Alison/Nancy Mazzuli	Chair	Spencer Raggio	10/18		-	11/20
Safety-At-Sea	Betsy Alison	Citali	Sally Honey	10/18		-	11/20
Championships CHAIR	Betsy Alison/Nancy Mazzulli	Champs Co-CHAIR	Drew Daugherty				11/20
		· ·	• .				
Champions of Champions	Betsy Alison/Nancy Mazzulli	Chair, D	Shannon Bush			-	11/20
Int'l Women's Keelboat Championship	Betsy Alison/Nancy Mazzulli	Chair	Carolyn Russell	Jan-15		-	11/20
Match Racing Championships	Betsy Alison/Nancy Mazzulli	Chair	Bill Simon	Oct-18		_	11/20
Adult Championship	Betsy Alison/Nancy Mazzulli	Chair	Erica Mattson Siegel	2/1/2017			11/20
U.S. Multihull Championship	Betsy Alison/Nancy Mazzulli	Chair	Ashley Enders	12/20/2016		_	11/20
U.S. Offshore Championship	Betsy Alison/Nancy Mazzulli	Chair	Chris Clement	12/18/2012			11/20
U.S. Singlehanded Championship	Betsy Alison/Nancy Mazzulli	Chair	Mitch Brindley	Jan-20			11/20
Team Racing Committee	Betsy Alison/Nancy Mazzulli	Chair	Clinton Hayes				11/20

## **Offshore Division**

Committee	Staff Liaison	Position	Nominees	Started	Athlete	Extend	<b>BoD Approved</b>
US Offshore	Nathan Titcomb	Chair _	Matt Gallagher	6/2020			11/20
<b>YOUTH Division</b>							
Committee	Staff Liaison	Position	Nominees	Started	Athlete	Extend	BoD Approved
Championships Division co-chair YOUTH		Champs Co-Chair	Malinda Crane	10/18			11/20
U.S. Junior Championships	John Pearce	Chair, E Jr Champs	Matt Dubois	11/17/2014			11/20
U.S. Junior Women's Championships	John Pearce	Chair	Alana O'Reilly Marks	12/1/2013	В		11/20
U.S. Youth Championship	John Pearce	Chair, D	Boo Caraway	18-Oct		_	11/20
Instuctors / Coaches Committee	John Pearce	Chair	Jessica Haverstock	18-Oct			11/20

#### **RACE ADMINISTRATION Division**

Committee	Staff Liaison	Position	Nominees	Started	Athlete	Extend	BoD Approved
Race Administration Committee	Matt Hill	Chair	Randy Draftz	2018			11/20
		Chair, Racing Rules	Peter Wilson	2020	В		11/20
		Chair, Classifiers	Barbara Caplan	2018			11/20
		Chair, Race Management	Taran Teague	2019			11/20
		Chair, Judges Committee	Sarah H Ashton	2017			11/20

## **Education Division**

Committee	Staff Liaison	Position	Nominees	Started	Athlete	Extend	<b>BoD Approved</b>
Training	Stu Gilfilen	Chair	Larry Ledgerwood	10/22/2015			11/20
Sports Medicine	Stu Gilfillan	Chair, MD	Anne Allen	11/2010			11/20
Community Sailing Committee	Jen Guimaraes	Chair	Don Rotzien				11/20

# **Member Engagement Division**

Committee	Staff Liaison	Position	Nominees	Started	Athlete	Extend	BoD Approved
Regional Sailing Associations Committee	Lucy Davidson	chair	Bob Sheppard	org choice			11/20
One Design Class Committee	Betsy Alison/Nancy Mazzulli	Chair	Chris Snow	9/25/2020			11/20