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If a boat clear astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to

leeward of a boat on the same tack, she shall not sail above her proper course

while they remain on the same tack and overlapped within that distance, unless

in doing so she promptly sails astern of the other boat. This rule does not

apply if the overlap begins while the windward boat is required by rule 13 to

keep clear. 

Rule 16.1 (Changing Course) is about limiting how fast a right-of-way boat

can turn near a keep-clear boat; rule 17 is about limiting where a leeward boat

(L) can sail when near a windward boat (W). Note that rule 17 simply puts a

“limit” on where L can sail when near W in certain situations. It does not shift

any right-of-way to W. When near each other, W must remember that rule 11

(On the Same Tack, Overlapped) requires her to keep clear of L wherever L is

sailing. The concept in rule 17 is simple: either L is “limited” to sailing no

higher than her proper course or she is “free” to sail up to head to wind if she

pleases; it is always one or the other for L whenever L and W are overlapped

on the same tack and within two of L’s lengths of each other.

Whether L is “limited” or “free” depends on the following five factors: 

1) whether the boats are overlapped on the same tack (note, two boats

sailing downwind on opposite tacks can be overlapped (see the definition

Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap)); but rule 17 does not apply to

them;

2) whether the boats are within two of L’s hull lengths of each other;

3) whether L became overlapped from clear astern within two of her hull

lengths of W and was on the same tack as W at the time;

4) whether W was subject to rule 13 (While Tacking); i.e., past head to

wind but not yet close-hauled, when L became overlapped; and

5) whether the starting signal has been made.

A few clarifying points on the five factors listed above:

• When L is not “limited” under rule 17, she is “free” to sail up to head

to wind if she pleases (commonly described as having “luffing rights”),

provided if she changes course she gives W room to keep clear in a sea -

manlike way (rule 16.1, Changing Course). To clarify, even if L is only
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overlapped with W by two feet, L can sail up to head to wind. Appeal

17 says, “A boat is head to wind when her bow is facing the wind, and

the centerline of her hull is parallel to it, irrespective of the position of

her sails.” This clarification is helpful because often when a boat is head

to wind her sails will blow momentarily to the other side giving the

illusion that she is past head to wind and therefore subject to rule 13

(While Tacking).

Remember that when L is head to wind, it is quite possible that W will

be required to go beyond head to wind in order to keep clear under

rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped). If this is the case, W must do

so. If it’s not possible for W to keep clear without fouling other boats

to windward of her, W should clearly alert L that she needs more room

to keep clear (as required by rule 16.1).
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Whenever L becomes overlapped to leeward of W from clear astern within two of her
lengths of W, she cannot sail above her proper course while less than that distance apart,
unless she promptly sails astern of W..



• The only time L is “limited” is when she is on the same tack as W and

becomes overlapped to leeward of W from clear astern within two of

her lengths of W. That’s it! The “limit” does not apply when L overlaps

W when more than two lengths apart, or when W becomes overlapped

to windward of L, or when L becomes overlapped to leeward of W on

the opposite tack and then gybes.

• Note that rule 17 uses the phrase “becomes overlapped.” This means

that any time a boat that was clear astern crosses a line perpendicular

to the clear ahead boat’s centerline drawn through the boat’s aftermost

point in normal position, it is considered that the boat has “become

over lapped” to leeward of the boat that was clear ahead, regardless of

how that line came to be in front of the boat clear astern (see the defi-

nition Overlap). So even in the situation where a boat clear astern is

holding her course and a boat clear ahead and to windward turns

down and creates an overlap, it is considered that the leeward boat has

become overlapped with the windward boat.

• The “limit” in rule 17 only applies to boats that are “overlapped” on

the same tack. The terms clear ahead, clear astern and overlap apply

to boats on opposite tacks when sailing below beam reaches or when

rule 18 applies; but rule 17 does not apply to those boats. So when a star -

board-tack boat and a port-tack boat are half way down a downwind

leg and they are sailing side by side, neither has a proper course limita -

tion. This also means that if two boats are overlapped on the same tack

and rule 17 applies, and the leeward boat (L) gybes, now the two boats

are on opposite tacks (i.e., they did not “remain” on the same tack) and

rule 17 ceases to apply; and if L gybes back while remaining overlapped

with W, rule 17 does not apply and L has “luffing rights.”

• The “limit” only applies when L and W are within two lengths of each

other. The “two lengths” distance is determined by two of L’s hull lengths;

i.e., the length of L’s hull, and not the additional length of any bow sprits,

overhanging mizzen booms, etc. This is particularly important when boats

of different sizes are near each other. That means that if rule 17 applies

and the two boats remain overlapped but sail more than two of L’s lengths

apart, rule 17 ceases to apply; and if the two boats remain overlapped

and converge again, rule 17 does not apply and L has “luffing rights.”
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• The “limit” in rule 17 is that L cannot sail above her proper course.

“Above” means on a course higher than the course that will get her to

the next mark as soon as possible. Because a boat does not have a proper

course until the starting signal is made, there is never any “limit” on L

before her starting signal (see the discussion of definition Proper Course).

Therefore, before the starting signal, L can sail up to head to wind at

all times, regardless of how she became overlapped.

But at the starting signal, L will be “limited” or “free” depending on how the

overlap began (whenever it began). Note that this applies regardless of whether

the boats have actually started; i.e., have crossed the starting line or not. If

with 20 seconds to go before the starting signal L becomes overlapped from

clear astern within two lengths of W, then at the starting signal L is “limited”

and must sail no higher than her proper course. If with 20 seconds to go W

overlaps L to windward, then at the starting signal L continues to be “free”

to sail up to head to wind if she pleases. 

“So it sounds like the starting signal is the key moment in time for deter -

mining whether L is ‘limited’ or ‘free;’ and that it is pretty important

for overlapped boats to remember how they first became overlapped

as the starting signal approaches!”

Exactly right. Before the starting signal, L is not “limited” in any way; i.e., she

can sail up to head to wind if she pleases. But after the starting signal, L is
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Whenever W becomes overlapped to windward of L, L can turn all the way up to head
to wind for the duration of the overlap, provided she gives W room to keep clear in the
process.



“limited” to sailing no higher than her proper course if she originally became

overlapped from clear astern. The advantage of having L’s limitation begin at

the starting signal is that it is a precise and predictable moment in time.

And the moment the starting signal is made, L instantly gets a proper course

(see the definition Proper Course). At that moment it is critical for L and W to

remember how they became overlapped! Hails when the overlap first begins

and throughout the overlap are going to be critical for producing orderly starts

and reducing disputes! 

“Do I have to bear away to my proper course before the starting signal is

made; i.e., do I have to anticipate my obligation not to sail above my

proper course after the starting signal?”

No. You do not have a proper course before the starting signal, and therefore

you are not “limited” as to where you can sail. When the starting signal is

made, and if you are now “limited” because you originally became overlapped

from clear astern, you are required to sail no higher than your proper course.

The course you will sail to finish as soon as possible will include the course

you are on at the moment the starting signal is made. If you must then bear

away to a lower course to get to the next mark and ultimately the finishing line

as soon as possible, you must do so immediately. For instance, if you are head

to wind before an upwind start, your proper course will be to bear away to a

close-hauled course or even slightly lower to build speed and sail upwind.

L is slowly luffing up to a new proper course in order to get to a puff of wind sooner. 
Because she would do that even in the absence of W, she is not sailing above her proper
course, and she is not breaking rule 17; and because she is giving W room to keep clear,
she is not breaking rule 16.1. W must keep clear under rule 11.
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“What is the purpose of the last sentence in rule 17, the one about rule 13?”

This sentence specifically addresses the tactic known as the “Slam Dunk.” (A

detailed analysis of the Slam Dunk can be found at the end of this chapter.)

Consider two close-hauled boats on opposite tacks (S and P) converging. P bears

away to pass astern of S. When P gets near S’s stern, S tacks. At some point

during S’s tack, P becomes overlapped to leeward of S. Is P “limited” or “free”

under rule 17? 

Well, once S passes head to wind and until she is on a close-hauled course,

S is required by rule 13 (While Tacking) to keep clear of P. And the last sentence

in rule 17 says that if P becomes overlapped to leeward of S while S is required

by rule 13 to keep clear of her, then rule 17 doesn’t apply. So in this case, P

would be “free” for as long as the boats remained overlapped; i.e., she could

sail up to head to wind, subject of course to rule 16.1 (Changing Course). If S

was already down to a close-hauled course before P became overlapped, then

P would be “limited” under rule 17 throughout the overlap. The net effect of

this rule is that it discourages Slam Dunks, which are very aggressive and often

contentious.

“What happens in the situation where L and W are both sailing their

proper courses and the two boats are converging; who has to keep clear?”

W must keep clear of L under rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped). Rule 17

only requires that L not sail above her proper course. As long as L is on her

proper course, she is complying with rule 17. Note that the phrase in rule 17

“her proper course” clarifies that it is L who gets to sail her proper course.

Therefore, when L is sailing on “her” proper course, W must keep clear under

rule 11, even when W’s proper course may be a lower course than L’s. (See Cases

7 and 14.)

Remember that a proper course is essentially any course a boat chooses to

sail in order to get to the next mark and ultimately to finish as quickly as pos-

sible. Therefore it is possible that there may be several proper courses at any

given moment depending upon the circumstances involved. It is also obvious

that two overlapping boats sailing for the same mark will converge. Note also

that a boat’s proper course is not necessarily a straight-line course. It can

change with changes in the breeze, current or waves, or with a change in the

boat’s strategy (see the discussion of definition Proper Course). However,

whenever L wants to change her course to a new proper course, she must give
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W room to keep clear under rule 16.1 (Changing Course). A hail that she in-

tends to change course is strongly recommended.

If L is “limited” and W thinks that L is sailing above L’s proper course, W

must still keep clear (rule 11); she can then protest under rule 17. If the two

boats hit, and it were decided by the protest committee that L was sailing

above her proper course, both boats will likely be disqualified: W for failing

to keep clear of L (rule 11), and L for illegally sailing above her proper course

(rule 17).

“What happens when L wants to luff two or more boats and one of the

middle boats is subject to rule 17 relative to a boat to windward of her?”

Good question! Let’s take the situation where L and W are sailing down a

reach about two lengths or so apart. Rule 17 does not apply between L and W.

A boat from astern (M) catches up and becomes overlapped between them.

When M becomes overlapped on W, W is clearly able to keep clear, so M is

complying with rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way). And W can give M room to

pass L such that she is entitled to room from W to pass L (rule 19.2(b), Giving

Room at an Obstruction). Now L begins to luff toward M and W. M responds

by luffing. W must keep clear of M under rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Over-

lapped) and give her room under rule 19.2(b). And M is not breaking rule 17

because in fact M is not sailing above her proper course. Here’s the reason.

Take the two boats involved, M and W. M became overlapped on W to leeward

from clear astern. Rule 17 requires M, therefore, not to sail above her proper

Because M becomes overlapped to leeward of W from clear astern, she is “limited” to
sailing no higher than her proper course. When L luffs, M is required to keep clear of
her under rule 11. Even in the absence of W, M would luff to keep clear of L. Therefore,
M is not sailing above her proper course and W must keep clear of M under rule 11 and
give her room under rule 19.2(b).
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course. In determining her proper course, the definition Proper Course instructs

us to remove the boats referred to in the rule using the term “proper course.”

In this case, rule 17 uses the term and refers to the windward boat W, so we

remove W. As M was sailing a course to keep clear of L, she would have been

sailing the same course in the absence of W; therefore, M was sailing her proper

course and not above it. (See Appeal 4.)

“What’s the purpose of the phrase in rule 17, ‘…unless in doing so she

promptly sails astern of the other boat’?”

This is to close a very subtle, undesirable loophole in the rule. Here’s a potential

scenario: on a run, you sail into leeward of a boat that was clear ahead of you,

but you realize that you won’t be able to sail past them due to their wind shadow.

You want to get out of there but you will have to luff above your proper course

to pass astern of them. No problem. Rule 17 clarifies that you can certainly

luff (i.e., sail above your proper course) provided you promptly sail astern of

W. If you luff and then realize that your bow won’t clear W’s transom and have

to pull your bow back down, you have broken rule 17.

“I thought there was a rule that said you couldn’t sail below your

proper course if you were to windward of another boat or clear ahead

of a boat that was trying to pass you to leeward?”

You are right; there was. But it was removed from the rule book entirely in the

2009–2012 rules. The reason it was removed is that it wasn’t widely known,

it was very difficult to prove a boat was breaking it, and with far fewer races

run on triangular courses (where the rule balanced the game coming into the

gybe mark), the need for the rule is far less.
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If Barger tries to squeeze in between the race committee boat and L, and hits L or causes 
L to bear off to avoid a collision, Barger breaks rule 11.

What that means is that if two boats (W and L) are sailing downwind over-

lapped, W can sail as low as she pleases in order to more effectively slow L 

down by blanketing her wind, as long as she keeps clear of L under rule 11 (On 

the Same Tack, Overlapped), even if she is sailing below her proper course. 

And if one boat (A) is clear ahead of another (B), not only does B need to 

keep clear under rule 12 (On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped), but A can sail 

as low as she pleases to make it more difficult for B to become overlapped to 

leeward and perhaps gain an inside overlap at a mark, even if she is sailing 

below her proper course.
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