UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2024

RULE 11 — ON THE SAME TACK, OVERLAPPED

When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat shall

keep clear of a leeward boat.

When boats on the same tack are overlapped, rule 11 applies. When boats are on
much different angles of sail, it is often difficult to know which is the leeward
boat. The boat that will hit the other’s leeward side or be hit on her own windward
side is the leeward boat. As a good rule of thumb, the boat that is on the point of
sail closer to the wind is typically the leeward boat; i.e., between a boat sailing
downwind and a boat sailing close-hauled, the close-hauled boat is usually the

leeward boat.

“I realize that when I'm the windward boat I have to keep clear of the

leeward boat, but how far away do I need to stay?”’

Far enough away so that while the leeward boat (L) is sailing on a straight line,
you do not hit L or force L to take any avoiding action to miss you; e.g., have to
change her course, ease her spinnaker pole forward or require any of her crew to
duck or move to avoid being hit.

Furthermore, you need to be far enough away so that the leeward boat can
change course in both directions without immediately making contact with you. If
you allow yourself to get so close to L that she is physically unable to change her
course without immediately hitting you, you are not keeping clear under the
definition Keep Clear and are breaking rule 11.

Note that the word “if” in the second part of the definition suggests that L does
not need to actually hit you to prove she couldn’t change course without hitting
you. If the protest committee decides that L couldn’t change course with -out
immediate contact, then you have broken rule 11 simply by your extreme close
proximity to L.

More importantly, anytime L cannot sail her course without a need to take
action to avoid you, you have not kept clear and have broken rule 11. There-fore,
you will be smart not to allow yourself to get so close that you will pos-sibly
interfere with L in the least. Notice also that when L is head to wind, it is quite
possible that you will be required to go beyond head to wind (i.e., change tacks) in
order to keep clear. If this is the case, you must do so. Also, if you are converging
with L and both of you are sailing on what you each believe to be your proper

course, rule 11 requires you to keep clear of L.





