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R U L E  2 1 . 1  

A boat sailing towards the pre-start side of the starting line or one of its exten-

sions after her starting signal to start or to comply with rule 30.1 shall keep

clear of a boat not doing so until her hull is completely on the pre-start side. 

R U L E  2 1 . 2  

A boat taking a penalty shall keep clear of one that is not. 

R U L E  2 1 . 3

A boat moving astern through the water, or sideways to windward, by backing

a sail shall keep clear of one that is not. 

Rule 21 is actually three rules in one. Let’s look at rule 21.1 first. Rule 28.1

(Sailing the Race) reads in part, “A boat shall start…”. So, if your hull isn’t

completely on the pre-start side of the starting line or its extensions at the start-

ing signal, you have to get there before you can start the race. However, even

when you and everyone else knows you are on the course side of the starting

line at the starting signal (OCS), you keep all your right of way until you are

sailing back towards the pre-start side of the starting line or one of its exten-

sions; i.e., you are converging with it. This means that you continue to have

rights even while slowing down or luffing in order to get clear enough to turn

back. When it is obvious that you are sailing back towards the starting line,

you must then keep clear of all boats that have started properly or are on the

pre-start side of the starting line.

Once your hull is completely on the pre-start side of the starting line or its

extensions, you are instantly subject to the Section A rules again; however, re-

member that if you acquire the right of way over another boat, you have to

initially give her room to keep clear of you under rule 15 (Acquiring Right of

Way).

Notice that when rule 30.1 (I Flag Rule), commonly referred to as the “one

minute rule” or “round-an-end rule” is in effect, the requirement to keep clear

in rule 21.1 applies only when you are sailing towards either end of the starting

line to comply with rule 30.1 after your starting signal. Before your starting

signal you have your normal right of way, even when you are over the line and
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obviously sailing toward an end to comply with rule 30.1.

Between two or more OCS boats sailing towards the pre-start side of the

line after the starting signal, the Section A rules apply in the usual way.

“I realize that if another boat fouls me and forces me over the starting

line just before the gun I’m OCS, but do I have to go back and restart?”

I’m afraid you do. If you don’t, then you haven’t started the race and have

broken rule 28.1 (Sailing the Race). And you are only exonerated for breaking

a rule when another boat “compels” you to break a rule (see rule 43.1(a), Exon -

er ation). In your case, the other boat may have forced you over the line, and

you certainly should win your protest against her, but she hasn’t caused you to

not return to the pre-start side and start. Therefore no exoneration is available.

This is similar to the situation when an outside boat wrongfully fails to give

you enough room at a mark and forces you on the wrong side of it. Though

you were clearly fouled, you still must round the mark on the correct side. 

These are two examples of situations where you can be right under the rules

but have your finishing place seriously hurt by a keep-clear boat with no way

for a protest committee to compensate you. At these times I’m reminded of the

old saying, “He was in the right as he sped along; but he’s just as dead as though

he were wrong!”

Rule 21.2 talks to boats that are doing either a One-Turn Penalty for break-

ing rule 31 (Touching a Mark) or a Two-Turns Penalty for possibly breaking

a rule of Part 2, under rule 44.2 (One-Turn and Two-Turns Penalties). It clearly

tells them that, while they are taking their penalties, they have to keep clear of

other boats, which makes sense. 

Notice that when you hit a mark or possibly break a rule of Part 2, you still

have all your rights as long as you continue sailing the course and while you are

sailing well clear of the other boats in preparation to doing your penalty turn(s).

But the moment it is obvious to other boats that you are clearly begin ning to

make a penalty turn, you must then keep clear of other boats in the race. You

get your rights back when you have completed your last turn; but remember

that if you acquire the right of way over another boat, you must initially give

her room to keep clear of you under rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way). 

Note that if you touch a starting mark or possibly break a rule of Part 2

before the starting signal, you can make your penalty turn(s) immediately, as

opposed to waiting for the starting signal before doing them. And when two
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boats are making a penalty turn, the Section A rules apply in the usual way, 

as does rule 23.2 (Interfering with Another Boat).

Rule 21.3 covers the situation where a boat actually backs its sail (i.e., holds 

the sail against the wind) and thereby causes the boat to move backwards, or 

sideways to windward (called “crabbing”), through the water. When a boat 

does this, she must keep clear of any other boat that is not doing likewise. 

Further more, she must remember that when she begins moving backwards or 

sideways, her action gives the right of way to boats astern or to windward of 

her; therefore they do not have to give her any room to keep clear of them 

under rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way) because they acquired the right of way 

by the action of the boat moving astern or sideways.

Note that if a boat begins to move backwards or sideways due to the 

backing of her sail, she continues to be subject to this rule for as long as she 

is moving astern or sideways, even if she lets her sails come amidships. 

However, if a boat simply begins to move backwards because she has lost 

her headway, rule 21.3 does not apply to her. 
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