UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2024

RULE 19.2(b) — GIVING ROOM AT AN OBSTRUCTION

When boats are overlapped, the outside boat shall give the inside boat room
between her and the obstruction, unless she has been unable to do so from the

time the overlap began.

The outside boat, whether the right-of-way boat or not, must give the inside boat
room to pass between her and the obstruction when she needs it, which will be
when she needs to commit to sailing on one side or the other of the obstruction
and needs room to do so.

A common example is two overlapped boats sailing upwind on port-tack (PL
and PW) approaching a starboard-tack boat (S). As the boats near each other, PL
bears away to pass astern of S. When PW gets to the point where she must commit
to either bearing away also or tacking, rule 19.2(b) requires PL to give PW room
to pass astern of S if PW chooses to do so (Case 11).

Another common example is on the starting line. Two overlapped starboard-
tack boats (SL and SW) are reaching down the line and approaching another
starboard-tack boat clear ahead (A). If SL wants to pass or stop on the wind-ward
side of A, she may do so by luffing, subject to rule 16.1 (Changing Course),
and SW must keep clear. If SL chooses to pass astern of A, then she must give
SW room to do so if SW chooses to pass astern as well. This is true even if SW’s
bow is ahead of SL’s such that she will reach A before SL. (See Case 117 and
Appeal 36.)

“What happens if it is not clear on which side the right of way boat will pass

the obstruction?”

Good question! Rule 19.2(b) is premised on there being an “inside” and an “out-
side” boat. If neither boat is clearly the “outside” boat, then it is not possible to
apply rule 19.2(b). It will be up to the protest committee to decide, based on the
facts, whether there was an “outside” boat. If, in the starting line example above,
SL is aiming at the aft portion of A when SW needs to commit to passing A on
one side or the other, I would say it is reasonable for her to assume that SL will

pass astern of A; i.e., on the “outside.”
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However, consider the situation where two overlapped port-tack boats (PL and
PW) are sailing downwind and approaching a boat ahead on the same tack (PA),
with PW half a length ahead of PL. As both PL and PW are required to keep clear
of PA under rule 12 (On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped), PA is an obstruction. If
PL is clearly sailing a course to pass to leeward of PA, then PW is entitled to
room to do likewise when she arrives at PA.

If PL is clearly sailing a course to pass to windward of PA, then PW must keep
clear under rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped); and when PL must commit
to passing PA to windward, she is also entitled to room from PW to do so.
However, if PL is aiming directly at PA’s transom, such that it is not possible to
determine by the positions of the boats on which side of the obstruction PL will
pass, there is no clear “outside” boat. As PW will arrive at PA before PL does, she
should keep clear under rule 11 and should not anticipate receiving room under
rule 19.2(b). She may end up overlapping PA to windward as a result of keeping
clear of PL. If when PL arrives at PA she chooses to pass PA to leeward, she must
give room to PW (assuming the boats are still overlapped), but that may be a moot
point as PW may not be able to take advantage of that space if she is overlapped
close to windward of PA. Hails between PW and PL regarding PL’s intentions as
the boats approach PA may be helpful, but are not mandatory under the rules. (See
Question 123.)

A

“If I am the outside boat, remind me how much space I need to give the inside fo 2

boat?” 0

You have to give her “room,” which is enough space for her to sail between you
and the obstruction in the prevailing conditions in a “seamanlike way;” i.e.,
sailing her boat in its normal way without risk of touching either you or the

obstruction.

a°«
“Does the inside boat have to call for room in order to get it?” "W

There is no requirement in the rules that an inside boat has to call for room in

order to get it, though I recommend hailing in advance to avoid problems
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later. Boats are expected to know their obligations under the rules, which in-cludes
outside boats at obstructions. Case 41 reads, “QUESTION 2: Does BW have to
hail for room to pass to leeward of A? If not, would BL risk disqualifi-cation by
not giving room? ANSWER 2: BW is not required to hail for room, although that
is a prudent thing to do to avoid misunderstandings. Rule 19.2(b) requires BL to
give room to BW if they both pass to leeward of the obstruction, whether or not

BW hails for room.”

“How does it work when I want to establish an overlap between two boats

on the starting line?”

Let’s say you were on starboard tack approaching two other starboard-tack boats
(L and W) sitting side-by-side near the starting line. You need to keep clear of L
under rule 12 (On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped), and W needs to keep clear of
L under rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped). Because
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If A and B are only passing the obstruction (race committee boat) for a very short time, it is
not a “continuing obstruction.” B is permitted to establish an inside overlap and become
entitled to room only if A can initially keep clear under rule 11 when B becomes over-lapped to
leeward of her (see rule 15), and is able to give B room from the time the overlap is
established (see rule 19.2(b)).

If A and B are sailing alongside the obstruction for more than a few seconds, the obstruc-tion
is a “continuing obstruction” and B is not permitted to establish an inside overlap and become
entitled to room because there is not room for her to pass between A and the race committee
boat (see rule 19.2(c)).

you both need to keep clear of L, she is an obstruction; but as a vessel under
way, she is not a “continuing” obstruction (see the definition Obstruction).
Therefore, rule 19.2(b) applies, meaning that you can establish an overlap be-
tween L and W even if there is not room at that moment to sail all the way
between them in safety.

If you become overlapped to leeward of W, she needs to keep clear of you
under rule 11; and you need to initially give her room to keep clear of you under
rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way). W also needs to give you room to pass the
obstruction (L) if she is able to do so from the moment you became overlapped
with her (rule 19.2(b)). If she is able to keep clear of you and give you room to
pass L, then she must. However, if despite her best effort she is unable to do so,

then you break rule 15 if you hit W, or rule 11 if you hit L or force L to avoid you.

“So if the inside boat gets her overlap so close to the obstruction that [

physically can’t give her room, I don’t have to?”

That’s right. Rule 19.2(b) says that if an outside boat is “unable” to give room

from the time the overlap begins, she doesn’t have to do so. This is a safety
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feature intended to discourage boats from creating last-minute inside overlaps
near obstructions. Note also that if the boat astern is acquiring the right-of-way
when it establishes an inside overlap, it also has to comply with rule 15
(Acquiring Right of Way). So again, if the outside keep-clear boat is unable to
respond promptly and keep clear (which would likely result in them also giving
room), the inside boat breaks rule 15 and the outside boat does not break rule
19.2(b).

5\{3 “OK, but what do I do if I'm entitled to room but the outside boat doesn’t give
{? me room, can I get exonerated if I am forced to break a rule?”

Yes. Let’s say you (PW) and a leeward boat (PL) are on port tack approaching a
starboard-tack boat (S). It looks clear to you that PL is going to duck S, i.e., pass
astern of her, and you begin to duck S as well. At the point in time that it becomes
clear to you that PL is not going to give you room, it is not possible for you to tack
without hitting S. You continue ducking S and your boom touches PL. You both
protest. First, at the point in time that it becomes clear to you that PL is not going
to give you room, it is not possible for you to avoid contact with either S or PL;
therefore you did not break rule 14 (Avoiding Contact). Second, PL failed to give
you room to pass the obstruction (S) and therefore broke rule 19.2(b). Third,
though you failed to keep clear of the lee-ward boat (PL) and broke rule 11 (On
the Same Tack, Overlapped), you are exonerated (freed from penalty) by rule

43.1(b) (Exoneration) because you were sailing within the room you were entitled

“When does rule 19 cease to apply such that I no longer have to give the

inside boat room?”

Once the inside boat no longer needs room to sail between the outside boat and
the obstruction, the boats are no longer “at” the obstruction and rule 19 ceases to
apply. For instance, take the upwind situation where PL and PW are passing astern
of S. Once PW has passed S such that she no longer needs space from PL to avoid
S, PL may assert her rights under rule 11 (On the Same Tack, Overlapped) and can
luff subject to rule 16.1 (Changing Course) and rule 17 (On the Same Tack; Proper

Course).

“If I'm on port tack sailing as close to a shoreline or dock as I can, can I
AN

call for ‘sea-room’ from a starboard-tacker?”

Absolutely not! First, there’s no such thing as “sea-room” in the rules. “Sea-
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room” is just a term for “room.” Rule 19.2(b) applies only to boats that are
“overlapped.” Boats sailing upwind on opposite facks are not overlapped (see the
definition Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap). Therefore, if you are sailing
close-hauled on port tack as close to the shore or a dock as you can get, you
cannot call for room from a converging close-hauled starboard-tack boat. Rule 10
(On Opposite Tacks) applies and you must slow down or bear off and take their

stern. (See Cases 9 and 43.)



