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R U L E 1 8 . 3 — P A S S I N G H E A D T O W I N D I N T H E Z O N E

If a boat in the zone of a mark to be left to port passes head to wind from port 
to starboard tack and is then fetching the mark, she shall not cause a boat that 
has been on starboard tack since entering the zone to sail above close-hauled 
to avoid contact and she shall give mark-room if that boat becomes overlapped 
inside her. When this rule applies between boats, rule 18.2 does not apply 
between them. 
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In a nutshell, rule 18.3 works like this (we’ll get into the technicalities below): 

If you are approaching a port-hand windward mark on port tack (which can 
include the port end of a windward finishing line) and tack in the zone near a 
starboard-tack boat (S) that has been on starboard tack since entering the zone, 
you must do it in a place that allows S to round or pass the mark without ever 
having to sail above close-hauled to avoid contact with you or another boat.

Furthermore, if S gets an inside overlap on you at any time during her round-
ing or passing maneuver, you must give her mark-room (room to round or pass the 
mark). And if you are unable to do so, tough luck on you. Rule 18.2(f) (about not 
having to give mark-room if unable to do so) does not apply because none of rule 
18.2 (Giving Mark-Room) applies when rule 18.3 applies. Furthermore if S breaks 
rules 15 (Acquiring Right of Way) or 16 (Changing Course) while taking mark-
room, she is exonerated under rule 43 (Exoneration). In other words, you are more 
or less a “sitting duck” for S! 

The bottom line is: if you are going to come into a crowded windward mark on 
port tack, it is better to cross nearby starboard tackers if you can, and tack safely 
to windward of them. And if you can’t cross them, then it is better to duck them 
than to try to tack close to leeward of them (lee-bow them). And to be safe, 
approach the mark four or more boat lengths below the port-tack layline so your 
tack to starboard tack is outside the zone.



“Okay, I’m ready to have you lead me through this rule!”
OK, let’s consider just two boats to begin with. First, rule 18.3 only applies at a 
windward mark to be left to port (which can include a finishing mark).
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Second, the two boats must have been on opposite tacks, and the port-tack boat 
(P) must have tacked to starboard tack, passing head to wind in the zone. Third, P 
must be fetching the mark after her tack. “Fetching” means a boat can pass to 
windward of a mark leaving it on the required side without sailing past head to 
wind to do so (see the definition Fetching). Finally, the starboard-tack boat (S) 
must have been on starboard tack since she entered the zone; if she had entered 
the zone on port tack and then tacked to starboard tack, rule 18.3 does not apply. 
And when rule 18.3 applies, rule 18.2 (Giving Mark-Room) does not apply (see 
rule 18.3).
   Note that when P and S are approaching the mark, rule 18 doesn’t apply at all 
because the boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward (rule 18.1(a), When 
Rule 18 Applies). Furthermore, if P passes head to wind outside the zone and then 
completes her tack inside the zone, rule 18.3 does not apply. 
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However, rule 13 (While Tacking) applies, and if S needs to avoid P before 
she completes her tack (gets to a close-hauled course), P has broken rule 13. It 
can be argued that it is difficult to know exactly where the zone is, but that is the 
case when applying the zone in any mark rounding or passing situation. Sailors 
approaching port-hand windward marks on port tack will be well advised to be 
conservative when the mark area is congested and to complete their tacks 
clearly outside the zone. 

“I thought that if a boat tacked inside the zone, she had no rights; and if she 
caused me to change course at all, she broke rule 18.3.”

No! If P gets to a close-hauled course before you have to take any avoiding action, 
then she has complied with rule 13 (While Tacking) and she is the right-of-way 
boat. She breaks rule 18.3 only if she causes you to sail above a close-hauled 
course to avoid her during or after her tack. If you are overstood (reaching in 
above the starboard-tack layline) for instance, and avoid contact by luffing up to a 
close-hauled course, she has not broken rule 18.3.
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