
Note that rule 18.2(b) does not shift the right of way from the boat clear astern 
to the boat clear ahead. If the boat clear ahead is the keep-clear boat, she is 
simply entitled to mark-room from the clear astern right-of-way boat.

“What happens when the boat ahead is on port tack approaching a 
downwind finishing line with a boat on starboard tack right behind her, and 
the port-tack boat will pass through the zone about two lengths from the 
finishing mark?”

Good question. First of all, the port-tack boat (PA) is the keep-clear boat under 
rule 10 (On Opposite Tacks). This does not change just because she is in the zone 
of the mark. Because she reached the zone clear ahead of the star-board-tacker 
(SB), she is entitled to mark-room. However, because her proper course is to sail 
straight across the finishing line, and because she is two lengths away from the 
mark, her proper course is not to sail close to the mark. Therefore, she is not 
entitled to room to sail to the mark; only to the space needed to leave the finishing 
mark on the required side (which she has plenty of). PA will need to keep clear of 
SB until she has finished and cleared the fin-ishing line and marks, which she can 
easily do by either heading up or bearing away or gybing. And if she fails to keep 
clear, she breaks rule 10 and is not exonerated by rule 43.1(b) (Exoneration). 

“What happens if the boat that was clear astern becomes overlapped on 
the inside of the other boat inside the zone?”

Note that rule 18.2(b) has a “lock-in” provision (“…shall thereafter give her 
mark-room”), and rule 18.2(c)(1) makes it clear that the lock-in provision 
continues to apply even if the boat clear astern later becomes overlapped, either on 
the inside or outside, with the boat that was clear ahead at the zone. 
Rule 18.2(c)(1) says, “When a boat is required to give mark-room by rule 18.2(b), 
she shall continue to do so even if later an overlap is broken or a new overlap 
begins…”. Therefore, if a boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat 
that is clear astern at that moment must continue to give her mark-room, even if 
she overlaps her later during her rounding or passing manoeuver.
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“So if I’m entitled to mark-room at a leeward mark, can I go head to wind 
to ‘close the door’ on a boat trying to sneak inside of me?”

Yes, but you have to be careful! Assuming the boat trying to sneak inside of you 
owes you mark-room, she still must give you that room, which is just enough 
space for you to round the mark as needed to sail the course. Further-more, when 
she becomes overlapped inside of you, she must also give you room to sail your 
proper course while you two are overlapped. Rule 18.2(c)(2) says, “When a boat 
is required to give mark-room by rule 18.2(b), if she becomes overlapped inside 
the boat entitled to mark-room, she shall also give that boat room to sail her 
proper course while they remain overlapped.”

If you break rule 16.1 (Changing Course) while taking the room or mark-room 
you are entitled to, you are exonerated by rule 43.1(b) (Exoneration). So as long 
as you don’t sail above your proper course, you can “close the door” even if you 
break rule 16.1 in the process.

However, when rounding a leeward mark to start a beat, once you’ve sailed up 
to a close-hauled course (usually your proper course), and can sail between the 
mark and the outside boat without breaking a rule, you’ve been given mark-room 
and rule 18 ceases to apply (see rule 18.1). Therefore, if you choose to sail above 
close-hauled, you are no longer sailing within the mark-room you are entitled to, 
and you are not exonerated if you break rule 16.1. So if when you luff above 
close-hauled, the windward boat cannot keep clear of you or she is forced to touch 
the mark because she is stuck between you and the lee-ward mark, you will break 
rule 16.1. And you get no room to tack, so if you sail past head to wind, you risk 
breaking rule 13 (While Tacking). However, if by sailing up to head to wind you 
force the windward boat to the wrong side of the mark without forcing them to 
foul any other boats, you have not broken rule 16.1 and you have successfully 
“shut the door.”
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