UNDERSTANDING THE RACING RULES OF SAILING THROUGH 2024

RULE18.2—GIVING MARK-ROOM

(a) When boats are overlapped the outside boat shall give the inside boat
mark-room, unless rule 18.2(b) applies.

(b) Ifboats are overlapped when the first of them reaches the zone, the outside
boat at that moment shall thereafter give the inside boat mark-room. If a
boat is clear ahead when she reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that
moment shall thereafter give her mark-room.

Note, rule 18.2(a) and the first sentence in 18.2(b) are “talking” only to over-
lapped boats. The second sentence in rule 18.2(b) deals with boats that are not
overlapped.

Remember, a boat is overlapped with another if her bow or equipment in
normal position (such as the spinnaker or extended bowsprit) is on or across a line
drawn abeam through the aftermost point of the other boat’s hull and equipment in
normal position. Also, two boats that otherwise are not over-lapped suddenly
become overlapped when a boat in between them overlaps both of them. So if
you are approaching a mark to be left to port and are just overlapped on the port
transom of the boat ahead of you, and she is just over-lapped on the port transom
of the boat ahead of her, you are technically overlapped with the boat ahead of
her (see the definition Clear Astern and Clear Ahead,; Overlap). Therefore you are
entitled to mark-room from both boats if you are overlapped when the farthest
boat ahead arrives at the zone.

Also remember that, by definition, two boats overlap when the bow or equip
ment in normal position of one is over the line drawn through the after-most part
of the other, even when the boats are a quarter of a mile apart.

T

“Can boats on opposite tacks be overlapped?” W

Yes. Boats on opposite tacks are overlapped when rule 18 applies to them, or
when they are both sailing more than ninety degrees from the true wind. This
becomes important as boats approach the leeward mark on opposite tacks on

widely differing angles.
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For instance, say that two boats are reaching on op-posite facks to a leeward
mark to be left to starboard. When the starboard tack boat (S) reaches the zone,

the port tack boat (P) is five lengths from the mark, but based on the angle of S’s

course, P is overlapped on the inside of S. Therefore, P is entitled to mark-room

from S under rule 18.2(b) if she needs it!However, as two boats approach a

windward mark on opposite tacks, they are on a beat to windward, and rule 18.1(a)

says that rule 18 does not apply to them.
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Even though I is well behind O, I has an M is in between O and I and overlaps both of
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zone; therefore O must give I mark-room. when O reaches the zone. O and M
must keep clear of I and give I mark-room.

As they are not sailing below ninety degrees to the true wind, the terms
“clear astern,” clear ahead” and overlap do not apply to them, so they
are not “overlapped,” and the port-tack boat must keep clear of the starboard-
tack boat. See the definition Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap.

0::4

“Are there any limitations on obtaining an overlap and becoming entitled to
the rights in rule 18.2(a) or 18.2(b)?”

A

Yes, there are two:

1) the boat astern cannot obtain an inside overlap and become entitled to mark-
room once the boat ahead reaches the zone clear ahead of the boat astern
(rules 18.2(b) and 18.2(c)); and

2) the outside boat is not required to give mark-room if she has been phys-
ically unable to give the inside boat mark-room from the time the overlap
began (18.2(f)).

Up to 1965, a boat clear astern could get a legal inside overlap as long as it was
(a) in time to enable the outside boat(s) to give room; (b) before the boat ahead

changed her course in the act of rounding; and (c) before any part of the boat
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ahead came abreast of the mark. Things were often a tad out of control as boats came
barreling up from astern yelling for “buoy room” at the last second.

In 1965 the rule writers took a creative step. Realizing that there ought to be
some “cutoff point” after which a boat clear astern could not obtain an inside
overlap, they devised a safety zone now simply called “the zone,” which has
proved to work very effectively. And because the “point” can be in any direction
from the mark, the zone is an imaginary area with the mark in the center
and having a radius of three of the nearer boat’s hull lengths; for in-stance, 72 feet
in a Melges 24 (see the definition Zone). Note the fact that it is the nearer boat’s
hull lengths; this becomes important when the boats are different sizes.

The second sentence in rule 18.2(b) says, “If a boat is clear ahead when she
reaches the zone, the boat clear astern at that moment shall thereafter give her
mark-room.” So the game ends at the zone. If you are catching up from astern but
don’t get the inside overlap before the boat ahead of you gets to the zone, then you
are not entitled to the rights in rule 18.2(b) and must give the boat ahead
mark-room under rule 18.2(b). If you do get the inside overlap before she gets
to the zone, then you are entitled to the rights in rule 18.2(b). So often the race is

not to the mark. .. it is to the zone!

“What if I physically can’t give room to the boat that just obtained the

inside overlap on me?”

That’s the second exception to rule 18.2(a) and 18.2(b). When a boat obtains an
inside overlap from clear astern, the boat ahead has a “protective shield” if she
needs it. When a boat gets an overlap on you just before you reach the zone, she
becomes entitled to mark-room under rule 18.2(b) as an inside boat. However, you
are not required to anticipate her arrival. There are times, though rare, when you
may be physically unable to give her the room she needs to round or pass
the mark from the time the overlap began, based on your situation at that
moment. Rule 18.2(f) says, “If a boat obtained an inside overlap from clear
astern or by tacking to windward of the other boat and, from the time the
overlap began, the outside boat has been unable to give mark-room, she is not
required to give it.” In this situation, she is not entitled to mark-room and the
applicable rules of Section A and B apply. If she be-comes the right-of-way boat,
she must comply with rule 15 (Acquiring Right of Way) which means she
won’t get inside at the mark because if the outside boat could have created

enough room to do so, she would
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have done so in the first place. And if she is a keep-clear boat, she must keep clear.

One example of where this situation might occur is a tightly packed mark
rounding in light air where a boat astern gets an inside overlap on a boat that is
three-and-a-half boat-lengths from the mark, but there’s just no way the outside
boat can get everyone else outside of her to move away from the mark in time to
create room for the new inside boat. Another example is when two boats are going
so fast that by the time the outside boat can react to her new obligation and make
the room, the inside boat is already past the mark on the wrong side. Twelve knots
of boat-speed equals about 20 feet per second, so on a windy reach a Hobie 18
will chew up three boat-lengths in less than three seconds!

A similar situation is when you are approaching a starboard-hand windward
mark on starboard-tack and you tack in the zone. Rule 18.3 (Passing Head to
Wind in the Zone) does not apply (see the discussion of rule 18.3). If a port-tack
boat becomes overlapped with you from clear astern, it is entitled to mark-room
under rule 18.2(a) unless you are physically unable to give her room, in which
case she is not entitled to mark-room.

Another similar situation is when you are approaching a starboard-hand
windward mark on starboard-tack, and a port-tack boat crosses you in the zone
and tacks to windward of you, or ducks you and then tacks into a wind-ward
overlap. Rule 18.2(a) requires you to give them mark-room unless you are

physically unable to do so from the moment the overlap began.

“What if at a port-hand windward mark the boat ahead of me, or over-lapped @f
outside of me, didn’t reach the zone clear ahead of me, but instead they
approached on the opposite tack and then tacked inside the zone? ” A

If you are approaching a windward mark to be left to port on starboard tack and a
boat comes in on port tack and tacks inside the zone and is clear ahead of you
when she completes her tack, you can obtain an inside overlap and become
entitled to mark-room under rule 18.3 (Passing Head to Wind in the Zone). Note,
when rule 18.3 applies, if the boat that tacked is unable to give you mark-room,
tough luck on her; she breaks rule 18.3. And if a boat tacks within the zone into an
outside overlap on you, she must give you mark-room at the mark as well under
rule 18.3. Rule 18.2 does not apply when rule 18.3 does. See the full discussion of
rule 18.3 in chapter 9.
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Another possible scenario is two boats (P and S) approaching a windward mark
to be left to port on opposite facks. S is about two lengths below the starboard-
tack layline; P is close to the port-tack layline. When S nears the port-tack layline
she tacks. When she passes head to wind she is within the zone. She completes her
tack clear ahead of P. P, moving faster, overlaps S to windward about one length
from the mark. Or in a similar approach, when S completes her tack she is
overlapped to leeward of P. In both scenarios, S is required to give P mark-room
under rule 18.2(a).

The reason is that after S tacks the boats are overlapped, but rule 18.2(a) makes
no reference to where the boats were when they reached the zone. It just talks
about overlapped boats (and remember, P and S were not “over-lapped” when
they were on opposite tacks). Because S and P are overlapped with S on the
outside, rule 18.2(a) requires the outside boat (S) to give the in-side boat (P) mark-
room. Note that in these two scenarios, S is not fetching the mark after her tack, so

rule 18.3 does not apply.

SO0Q

A ey “OK, I get all that. So if 'm the outside boat, can you remind me when I

have to start giving the inside boat mark-room?”

You have to start giving mark-room the moment rule 18 begins to apply, which
is when the hull of the first of the boats involved is in the zone, which is normally
three lengths from the mark. It is at this point that outside/right-of-way boats need
to yield their right of way and provide the inside/keep-clear boats the space they

need to sail to and around the mark.

“So if I'm the outside boat and required to give mark-room, how much room

do [ have to give the inside boat?”

Well, first you have to understand what “room” means; then what “mark-room”
means. “Room” is “the space a boat needs in the existing conditions, including
space to comply with her obligations under the rules of Part 2 and rule 31, while
manoeuvring promptly in a seamanlike way” (see the definition Room). “Mark-
room” is “Room for a boat to leave a mark on the required side. Also (a) room to
sail to the mark when her proper course is to sail close to it, and (b) room to
round or pass the mark as necessary to sail the course without touching the
mark” (see the definition Mark-Room).

First, you have to give her room to round or pass the mark on the required side.

Also, assuming the inside boat’s proper course is to sail close to the mark,
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say within a couple of feet or so as it will be when she is rounding the mark, you

113

have to give her the space she needs to sail to the mark in a “seamanlike
way” (meaning safe; not putting her boat or crew at risk of damage or injury, or at
risk of touching the mark; sailed the way competent, but not expert, sailors would
sail to the mark) in the prevailing conditions. A boat will need more space if it is
windy and wavy, and less space if it is light air and smooth; just as a boat will
need more space if it has a lot of sail handling to do, and less space if it has only
one sail to deal with. (See Case 21.)

Note: room does not include space for the inside boat to sail her proper course
to the mark; i.e., the space the inside boat might like to set up for a tac-tically
desirable “swing wide-cut close” type rounding, though in actual practice most
outside boats are a little more forgiving. (See Appeal 20.)

Then you have to give her the space she needs to round or pass the mark as
necessary to sail the course, which means just enough space to allow her to round
the mark in a “seamanlike way” onto the course she needs to sail to begin the next
leg (see the definition Room). Again, “seamanlike way” means the space needed
to not be at risk of touching the mark or the outside or clear astern boat during her
rounding, and not the space she might want to sail her proper course; i.e., the
course she might want to sail for tactical reasons. (See
Case 118.) T

“What if I need to gybe; do I get room for that too?” V I =

If you need to gybe to round the mark in order to sail the course, then yes, mark-
room includes enough space for your boom to come across and your stern to
swing when you gybe to round the mark. This is common at leeward marks when

the inside boat needs to gybe to round the mark. (See Case 75.)

“Do I also get room to gybe around the windward mark going onto a run?”’
No! If you are clear ahead and rounding close to the windward mark onto a run
(where you will spend time on both facks), you do not need to gybe in order to sail
the course, even though gybing may be your proper course. Therefore, mark-

room does not include room to gybe in that situation.

“How about when I'm a windward/inside boat coming into the windwarc

mark or rounding the leeward mark; am I entitled to room to tack around th

mark?”

At the windward mark, Yes; at the leeward mark, No. If you are the inside
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boat and are overlapped to windward of the boat required to give you mark-room,
and you need to tack to round the mark in order to sail the course, then mark-
room includes room to tack as long as you are fetching the mark after your tack
(see the definition Mark-Room). Note, if you are clear ahead in the zone, you are
still entitled to mark-room, but not to room to tack (see the definition Mark-Room
and Appeal 89). However, at a leeward mark going onto a beat to windward, you
do not need to tack around the mark in order to sail the course; therefore, mark-
room does not include room to tack.

At the windward mark, note that once the inside overlapped tacking boat
passes head-to-wind, rule 18 no longer applies because the boats are now on
opposite tacks on a beat to windward (rule 18.1(a)). If contact occurs during the
tack, the inside boat will have a good argument that the outside boat was failing to
give her mark-room before she passed head-to-wind; i.e., while rule 18.2(a) or
18.2(b) still applied, and that she is exonerated by rule 43.1(b) (Ex-oneration) for
her breach of rule 13 (While Tacking). However, it is possible that a protest
committee might decide that the inside boat could have tacked without causing
contact (i.e., that she had room to tack), and therefore disqual-ify the inside boat
for breaking rule 13 because rule 18 no longer applied once she passed head to
wind. The bottom line in this situation is that the outside boat should be sure to
give the inside boat enough space to make a normal tack without hitting her; and
the inside boat should be careful not to hit the outside boat while she is tacking to

be safe.
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LO must give WI mark-room under

rule 18.2(b), which includes room to tack. However,
the moment W1 passes head to

wind, she and LO are on opposite tacks

and rule 18 shuts off. At that point

rule 13 requires WI to keep clear

of LO while tacking; and rule 14

always requires both boats to avoid

L contact. If WI makes a normal tack and

WI e her transom touches LO, it is likely a protest
committee will decide that LO failed to give WI room

’ to tack. To be safe, WI should try not to let her
- transom touch LO after she passes head
. Lo to wind, and LO should give WI enough

e space so she can tack without contact.

“Rule 18.1 says that rule 18 no longer applies once the boat entitled t v
A&

mark-room has been given mark-room. When has a boat been given mark 0

room?”

Rule 18.1 states, “Rule 18 no longer applies between boats when mark-room has
been given.” A boat has been given mark-room when it has received all the room
(space) it is entitled to in the definition Mark-Room (see Cases 21 and 118).
Specifically,

1) the boat has the space it needs to round or pass the mark on the required side;

2) if the boat’s proper course will bring her within a couple of feet of the
mark, the boat has the space it needs to sail “to” the mark;

3) the boat has the space it needs to round or pass the mark as necessary to
sail the course, i.e., sail onto the course needed to begin the next leg or to
finish; and

4) while rounding or passing the mark, the boat can keep clear of the boat
giving her mark-room without risk of touching the mark or fouling
another boat.

5) Additionally, mark-room includes room to tack in certain situations (see the

discussion above).

Note, this might occur before she has left the mark astern when there are no
mitigating circumstances; or it might occur after she has left the mark astern, for

instance in strong adverse current.
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“What if [ am sailing short-handed or my crew is inexperienced, do I get

more room as a result?”

No. A boat is not entitled to more space than usual just because her crew is short-
handed or inexperienced. Case 103 addresses this head on by saying, “Neither the
experience of IW’s crew nor their number is relevant in determin-ing ‘room’... the
interpretation of ‘seamanlike way’ must be based on the boat-handling that can
reasonably be expected from a competent, but not expert, crew of the appropriate
number for the boat.”

The moment a boat has been given mark-room, rule 18 ceases to apply,
meaning she is no longer “sailing within the room or mark-room to which she was
entitled” under rule 18.2. This means she is no longer “protected” by rule 43.1(b)
(Exoneration). She is subject to the rules in Section A and B, and must comply
with those rules or risk penalty.





