
Quiz 12  
Boats A and B are approaching the starting line to start. B is a few feet clear astern of A and 

yelling “Up! Up! Up!” A holds her course. B then becomes overlapped to leeward of A and A 

immediately luffs (heads up) approximately 15 degrees and there is contact between the starboard 

bow of B and the port corner of A’s transom. There is no damage or injury. Both boats protest. 

You are on the protest committee; how would you decide this? 

 
Answer to Quiz 12 

B is penalized under rule 15, Acquiring Right of Way. Before the boats were overlapped, B was 

required to keep clear under rule 12, On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped; and despite B’s hails, 

A, as the right-of-way boat, was under no obligation to take any action relative to B. When B 

became overlapped with A, she instantly became the right-of-way boat under rule 11, On the 

Same Tack, Overlapped; however she was also initially required to give A room to keep clear 

under rule 15. A immediately responded to her obligation to keep clear of B under rule 11, but did 

not have the room (space) she needed to keep clear as evidenced by the contact. B broke rule 15; 

and A broke rule 11 but is exonerated under rule 21, Exoneration. 

Both boats are required by rule 14, Avoiding Contact, to avoid contact if reasonably possible. 

A responds immediately to B’s overlap but is unable to avoid contact; therefore she does not 
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break rule 14. B clearly breaks rule 14; but as she is the right-of-way boat at the time, she cannot 

be penalized under rule 14 because the contact does not cause damage or injury (see rule 14(b)).  
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Quiz 14  
With 30 seconds to go before the starting signal, Boat P (on port tack) on a beam reach, is 

approaching Boat S (on starboard tack) who is on a close-hauled course. P proceeds to luff and 

then cross head to wind all in one motion, ending up to leeward of S. Just after P passes head to 

wind she holds her course, telling S to keep clear because she is on starboard tack and a leeward 

boat. S luffs to avoid contact with P and protests. You are on the protest committee; how would 

you decide this? 

 
Answer to Quiz 14  
Boat P is penalized under rule 13, While Tacking. When P passes head to wind, she changes tack 

from port tack to starboard tack. However, rule 13 states that after a boat passes head to wind, she 

must keep clear of other boats until she is on a close-hauled course; and before she gets to close-

hauled, rules 10, 11 and 12 do not apply. Rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped, is the wind-

ward/leeward rule. P has not borne away to a close-hauled course when S has to change course to 

avoid contact; therefore P breaks rule 13. 
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Quiz 24 
Two overlapped boats, W and L, are broad reaching on starboard tack within two lengths of each 

other. W has caught up with L from clear astern and is attempting to pass her to windward. L 

begins to slowly luff above her proper course and W keeps clear. When W is within a couple feet 

of pulling clear ahead, W luffs sharply, clearly breaks the overlap and bears away, causing the 

boats to become overlapped once again. L continues to sail above her proper course in an effort to 

delay W from passing her. W keeps clear and protests L. You are on the protest committee; how 

would you decide this? 

 
Answer to Quiz 24 

L is penalized under rule 17, On the Same Tack; Proper Course. At positions 1 and 2, W is 

keeping clear under rules 12, On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped, and 11, On the Same Tack, 

Overlapped, respectively. When L luffs from position 1 to 2, rule 16.1, Changing Course, requires 

her to give W room to keep clear, which she does. At position 3, when W luffs and breaks the 

overlap, L becomes clear astern of W (see the definition Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap). 

When W bears away, L becomes overlapped to leeward of W. Rule 17 states, “If a boat clear 

astern becomes overlapped within two of her hull lengths to leeward of a boat on the same tack, 

she shall not sail above her proper course…” The fact that it is W’s actions that cause the overlap 

to be broken and then re-established is immaterial. By sailing above her proper course after she 

becomes overlapped to leeward of W, L breaks rule 17. 
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Quiz 27 
Boat P (on port tack) is sailing close-hauled within one length of a dock. Boat S (on starboard 

tack), also close-hauled, is on a collision course with P and hails, “Starboard!” P replies with a 

hail of “Room to clear the obstruction!” S tacks to avoid the collision and protests. You are on the 

protest committee; how would you decide this? 

 
Answer to Quiz 27 
Boat P is penalized under rule 10, On Opposite Tacks. Rule 19.2(b), Room to Pass an Obstruc-

tion; Giving Room at an Obstruction, applies between boats at an obstruction, but only when the 

boats are overlapped. Because the boats are on opposite tacks and not sailing below 90 degrees 

from the true wind, they are not “overlapped” (see the definition Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; 

Overlap); therefore rule 19.2(b) does not apply. And rule 20, Room to Tack at an Obstruction, 

does not apply because P and S are not on the same tack (see rules 20.1, Hailing and 20.2, 

Responding). 
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Quiz 29 

Boats W and L are beam reaching along the starting line on starboard tack. Ahead of them, Boat 

X is nearly motionless on a close-hauled course. To avoid hitting X, W asks L for room to pass to 

leeward of X. L refuses, claiming that W can pass to windward of X. L passes to leeward of X 

and W passes to windward of X. W protests L. You are on the protest committee; how would you 

decide this? 

 
Answer to Quiz 29 
Boat L is penalized for breaking rule 19.2(b), Giving Room at an Obstruction. With respect to X, 

both L and W are clear astern and therefore required to keep clear of her under rule 12, On the 

Same Tack, Not Overlapped; X therefore ranks as an obstruction to both (see the definition 

Obstruction). As L and W approach X, L, as the right-of-way boat, has the option of luffing and 

passing X to windward, or of steering a course to pass X to leeward (see rule 19.2(a)). When L 

elects to pass X to leeward, and is overlapped with W, rule 19.2(b) requires her to give room to 

W, as the inside boat, to do the same. Note that had L elected to luff and pass X to windward, W 

would be required to keep clear under rule 11, On the Same Tack, Overlapped; and as the outside 

boat, to give room under rule 19.2(b). 
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Quiz 31 

Boat S (on starboard tack) is approaching the leeward mark to be rounded to starboard. Boat P 

(on port tack) is similarly approaching the leeward mark on a collision course with S. When three 

lengths from the mark, P hails, “Mark-room!” to S. S remains silent. When right at the mark, P 

begins to gybe inside of S and S is forced to bear away to avoid hitting P. S protests P. You are on 

the protest committee; how would you decide this? 

 
Answer to Quiz 31 
Boat S’s protest is disallowed; neither boat is penalized. Rule 18.2(b), Giving Mark-Room, 

begins to apply when P enters the zone (is within three lengths of the mark; see the definition 

Zone). Though on opposite tacks, S and P are considered “overlapped” because rule 18, Mark-

Room, applies to them (see the definition Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap). S, as the 

outside boat, is required to give P (the inside boat) mark-room, which includes space to gybe 

when gybing is necessary to sail the course (see the definition Mark-Room). S complies with rule 

18.2(b) and P does not take more room than she is entitled to. Though P breaks rule 10, On 
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Opposite Tacks, she is exonerated under rule 21, Exoneration, because she is sailing within the 

mark-room to which she is entitled. 
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Quiz 16 	
Two	25-foot	boats,	L	(a	leeward	boat)	and	W	(a	windward	boat),	are	approaching	the	right-

hand	end	of	the	starting	line,	a	30-foot	powerboat,	to	start	an	upwind	leg.	Both	boats	are	

beam	reaching,	with	L	on	a	course	to	pass	one	length	to	leeward	of	the	race	committee	

boat.	Twenty	seconds	before	the	starting	signal	and	when	two	lengths	from	the	race	com-

mittee	boat,	L	hails	“No	room!	Don’t	go	in	there!”	to	W.	Both	boats	hold	their	courses	until	

W	is	overlapped	to	leeward	of	the	race	committee	boat.	At	that	point	L	luffs	and	W	makes	

contact	nearly	simultaneously	with	both	L	and	the	committee	boat.	There	is	damage	to	the	

race	committee	boat	but	not	serious	damage.	Both	boats	protest	each	other.	You	are	on	the	

protest	committee;	how	would	you	decide	this?	

	

Answer (16) 

Boat	L	is	penalized	under	rules	14,	Avoiding	Contact,	and	16.1,	Changing	Course.	The	

preamble	to	Section	C,	At	Marks	and	Obstructions,	states	that	rules	18	(mark-room)	

and	19	(room	to	pass	an	obstruction)	do	not	apply	“at	a	starting	mark	surrounded	

by	navigable	water	or	at	its	anchor	line	from	the	time	the	boats	are	approaching	

them	to	start...”	Therefore	the	situation	is	governed	by	the	rules	in	Sections	A	and	B.	

At	the	time	W	becomes	overlapped	to	leeward	of	the	race	committee	boat,	she	is	

keeping	clear	of	L	in	compliance	with	rule	11,	On	the	Same	Tack,	Overlapped.	Rule	

16.1	requires	L,	as	a	right-of-way	boat,	to	give	W	room	to	keep	clear	of	her	when	she	

changes	her	course.	When	L	luffs,	there	is	not	room	(space)	for	W	to	comply	with	the	

Part	2	rules	and	rule	31,	Touching	a	Mark,	due	to	the	physical	presence	of	the	race	

committee	boat	(see	the	definition	Room).	Therefore	L	breaks	rule	16.1.	W	breaks	

rules	11	and	31	but	is	exonerated	under	rule	21,	Exoneration.	
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Quiz 50 	
Boat	Q	is	beating	towards	the	finishing	line	in	very	light	winds	and	adverse	current.	Just	

after	her	bow	crosses	the	finishing	line,	she	bears	away	and	sails	off	the	course.	Boat	P	

protests	Q	for	failing	to	completely	cross	the	finishing	line.	You	are	on	the	protest	commit-

tee;	how	would	you	decide	this?	

	

Answer (50) 

Boat P’s protest is disallowed; Boat Q is scored in her finishing position. Boat Q “finished” 

when her bow crossed the finishing line (see the definition Finish). Rule 28.1, Sailing the 

Course, states, “After finishing she need not cross the finishing line completely.” 
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Quiz 57 
Given	that	you	are	sailing	a	dinghy	and	that	there	are	no	modifications	to	rule	42,	Propul-

sion,	in	effect,	how	would	you	answer	the	following	questions:	

1)	How	many	“pumps”	per	wave	are	allowed	to	initiate	surfing	downwind?	

2)	How	much	“ooching”	per	wave	is	allowed	to	initiate	surfing	downwind?	

3)	Is	roll-tacking	and/or	roll-gybing	permitted?	

	

Answer (57) 

The answers to all three questions are contained in rules 42.2, Propulsion: Prohibited Actions, 

and 42.3, Propulsion: Exceptions.  

1) “Pumping”	is	defined	by	rule	42.2(a)	as	“repeated	fanning	of	any	sail…”.	However	rule	

42.3(c)	permits	one	“pull”	of	each	sail	when	surfing	is	possible;	i.e.,	the	mainsheet	

and/or	the	spinnaker	sheet	and/or	the	spinnaker	guy	can	each	be	pulled	once	per	wave.	

Note	that	there	is	no	restriction	on	which	part(s)	of	the	mainsheet	can	be	held	while	

pumping.		

2) None.	“Ooching”	is	prohibited	at	all	times	(rule	42.2(c)).	

3) Yes,	both	are	allowed,	provided	the	“roll”	doesn’t	make	the	boat	go	faster	after	the	tack	

or	gybe	than	it	was	going	immediately	prior	to	the	tack	or	gybe	(rules	42.3(a)	and	(b)).	

However,	repeated	tacks	or	gybes	unrelated	to	changes	in	the	wind	or	to	tactical	con-

siderations	break	rule	42.2(e)	even	if	they	do	not	make	the	boat	go	faster.	
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Quiz 61	
Two	close-hauled	boats	on	a	beat	(S	and	P)	are	on	a	collision	course.	When	a	couple	of	

lengths	away	from	S,	P	begins	bearing	away	to	pass	astern	of	S.	S	holds	her	course.	Just	as	it	

appears	to	S	that	P	is	about	to	pass	astern,	P	misjudges	her	course	and	collides	with	S,	

putting	a	hole	in	the	aft	port	corner	of	S’s	hull	and	doing	considerable	damage	to	the	stern	

pulpit.	S	protests	P	and	P	immediately	takes	a	Two-Turns	Penalty.	S,	after	stopping	to	make	

some	repairs,	manages	to	finish	the	race	though	she	is	unable	to	proceed	at	full	speed	due	

to	the	damage.	She	loses	several	places	as	a	result.	Ashore,	S	files	her	protest	against	P	and	

also	requests	redress.	You	are	on	the	protest	committee;	how	would	you	decide	this?	

	

Answer (61) 

Boat P is disqualified under rules 10, On Opposite Tacks, and 14, Avoiding Contact. S is granted 

redress under rule 64.2, Decisions on Redress. By colliding with S, P fails to keep clear of S 

thereby breaking rule 10; and fails to avoid a collision thereby breaking rule 14. Furthermore, the 

collision causes serious damage to S. Therefore her penalty is to retire (see rule 44.1(b), Taking a 

Penalty); i.e., the Two-Turns Penalty is not available when the rules breach causes serious 

damage. Because P does not retire, she has not taken her penalty; therefore she is disqualified.  

		Clearly,	S	could	not	have	reasonably	avoided	this	collision;	therefore	she	does	not	break	

rule	14.	And	because	S’s	finishing	place	in	the	race	is	made	significantly	worse	by	the	

physical	damage	caused	by	P,	a	boat	that	was	breaking	a	rule	of	Part	2,	and	because	the	

collision	occurs	through	no	fault	of	her	own,	S	is	entitled	to	redress	under	rule	62.1(b),	

Redress,	and	rule	64.2.	
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Quiz 63 
With	one	minute	to	go	before	the	starting	signal,	Boat	P	(on	port	tack)	tries	to	tack	in	to	

leeward	of	Boat	S	(on	starboard	tack).	During	the	tack,	S	luffs	to	avoid	contact	and	protests	

P.	P	immediately	gets	clear	of	S	and	takes	a	Two-Turns	Penalty	before	the	starting	signal	

has	sounded.	P	gets	a	good	start	and	crosses	S	shortly	thereafter.	S	protests	P	for	not	doing	

her	Two-Turns	Penalty	after	the	starting	signal.	You	are	on	the	protest	committee;	how	

would	you	decide	this?	

	

Answer (63) 

Boat S’s protest is disallowed. Boat P has complied with rule 44.2, One-Turn and Two-Turns 

Penalties. There is no requirement that a boat breaking a rule before the start take her penalty 

after the starting signal, nor that she take her penalty behind the starting line. On the contrary, 

rule 44.2 requires that the boat gets well clear of other boats as soon after the incident as possible 

and promptly takes her penalty. 
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Quiz	68 
Between	 races,	 the	 crew	 on	 Boat	 X	 is	 eating	 lunch.	 One	 of	 the	 crew	 throws	 his	

sandwich	 bag	 overboard	 and	 makes	 no	 effort	 to	 retrieve	 it.	 The	 race	 committee	

observes	this	and	protests	the	boat.	You	are	on	the	protest	committee;	how	would	

you	decide	this?	

	

Answer	(68)	

Boat	X	breaks	rule	55,	Trash	Disposal,	and	is	penalized.	Rule	55	applies	at	all	times	

while	a	boat	intending	to	race	is	afloat.	By	intending	to	race	under	The	Racing	Rules	

of	Sailing	 (RRS),	 a	 boat	 agrees	 to	 accept	 and	 be	 governed	 by	 the	RRS	 (see	 rule	 3,	

Acceptance	 of	 the	 Rules).	 The	 RRS	 define	 “boat”	 as	meaning	 the	 sailboat	 and	 the	

crew	on	board	(see	Introduction	to	the	RRS).	Rule	55	permits	the	protest	committee	

to	give	the	boat	a	penalty	less	than	disqualification	if	it	so	chooses.	Rule	64.1,	Penal-

ties	and	Exoneration,	states	that	when	a	boat	has	broken	a	rule	when	not	racing,	her	

penalty	shall	apply	to	the	race	sailed	nearest	in	time	to	that	of	the	incident.	
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Quiz	100 
The	sailing	instructions	for	a	race	simply	state:	“Six	races	are	scheduled	of	which	

three	shall	be	completed	to	constitute	a	series.”	Boat	P’s	scores	are	(in	race	order):	

3-2-3-4-1-6.	Boat	Q’s	scores	are	(also	in	race	order):	4-8-2-1-3-3.	You	are	the	scorer;	

which	boat	beats	the	other?	

	

Answer	(100)	

Boat	Q	beats	Boat	P.	Rule	90.3(a),	Scoring,	says	that	the	race	committee	shall	score	a	

series	as	provided	in	Appendix	A,	Scoring,	using	the	Low	Point	System	unless	the	

notice	of	race	or	sailing	instructions	specify	some	other	system.	Rule	A2,	Series	

Scores,	says	that	each	boat’s	score	shall	be	the	total	of	her	race	scores	excluding	her	

worst	race	unless	the	sailing	instructions	specify	some	other	arrangement.	Rule	A8,	

Series	Ties,	says	that	first	you	see	who	has	the	greater	number	of	firsts,	then	sec-

onds,	etc.	excluding	the	worst	race.	Boats	P	and	Q	each	have	a	1-2-3-3-4.	Then	you	

see	who	beats	whom	in	the	last	race,	using	all	the	race	scores	including	the	excluded	

one.	Q	beats	P	in	race	6	and	is	therefore	the	winner.	
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