US SAILING Executive Committee
February 21, 2005 8 p.m. E.S.T
Telephone Conference Meeting

President Janet Baxter called the meeting to order at 8:00 p.m., Eastern Standard Time.
Present were Janet C. Baxter, Dean Brenner, Jim Capron, Ruth Creighton, Susan Epstein, Louise Gleason, Fred Hagedorn, Dick Hanneman, Tom Hubbell, Patty Lawrence, Leslie Keller, Rich Jepsen, Bill Munster, Joni Palmer and Bill Sandberg. Also present were Charlie Leighton, Executive Director and James Appel, Budget Director.

Action Item: A motion to approve the January 24, 2005 minutes of the Executive Committee as corrected was made, seconded and carried.

President Baxter reported on her activities representing US SAILING at various events.

Charlie Leighton presented his first monthly report as Executive Director. He noted that the line of credit has been increased from $175,000 to $375,000. In his meetings with the Auditors he was told that monitoring cash positions remains a vital management requirement. He pointed out although there are $95,000 in receivables currently over 90 days old, due to established payment terms, only 5% are considered at risk. He also noted that changes at the USOC had left National Governing Body budgets in flux. The USOC is reviewing its processes and will announce new procedures in April 2005. At that time US SAILING may be forced to redo the Olympic Committee Budget. He also reported on meetings held with the staff.

One Design Chair Patty Lawrence announced that dates of the 2005 One Design Symposium had been changed. The new dates are November 19-20, 2005.

Treasurer Leslie Keller announced that it would not be possible to complete the annual audit prior to the March US SAILING meeting. There was considerable discussion with respect to the Olympic budget shortfall. Staff will continue its review and a full report will be presented to the full Board of Directors at the March meeting.

Vice President Fred Hagedorn discussed the results of a review of all US SAILING Regulations changes that have not yet been incorporated on the web site.
Action Item: A motion was made, seconded and carried to have changes and additions in the following regulations incorporated in the Regulations posted on the US SAILING web site. All have been approved by the Executive Committee and the Board of Directors. Budget, 4.60; Nominating, 4.90; Contestant Conduct,5.04; Appointments, 6.02; Appeals, 6.08; Executive Committee, 6.09; Reserve Fund, 7.13;and, Amateur Sports Act, 11.01.

And, minor clerical changes will be made in Indemnification, 7.04; and in Non- Cash Donations, 7.13.
And, a requirement that officers and directors acknowledge their acceptance of the Code of Conduct, approved in January 2003 by the Executive Committee and in March 2003 by the Board of Directors, will be incorporated in the Code.

And, new Regulations 11.04, Sexual Harassment; and 11.05, Physical Abuse, will be incorporated into the Regulations and added to the web site. Both were approved in August, 2003 by the Executive Committee and in October, 2003 by the full Board of Directors.

Training Chair Rich Jepsen led a discussion of the need for additional sponsorships for the National Sailing Program Symposium as well as for other US SAILING programs.  At present there are multiple groups seeking small contributions. It was agreed that an overall program should be developed to centralize efforts to develop sponsorships for various programs, and that we need to move our sponsorship programs to the next level. Training and Inshore will work to identify these needs.

President Baxter reported on changes taking place in rating systems. US SAILING supports the PHRF program and Americap, and is the administrator in this country for the new IRC system. A proposal from the Offshore Racing Association (ORA) to take over administration and future development of Americap has been received.

Action Item: A motion was made, seconded and carried to refer the proposal from the ORA to staff for an evaluation, and to develop a business plan and to evaluate any budget impact prior to giving further consideration to the proposal.

General Services chair Ruth Creighton led a discussion concerning the use of US SAILING properties by non members. Race Administration chair Jim Capron announced that at the Newport meeting, the Race Administration Committee and its constituent committees plan to address the issue of membership and/or differential fees as a requirement for attending a US SAILING race official certification course."  There was consensus in the ExCom that individuals should be members before participating in these certification programs. Certification is issued only to US SAILING members. Other products and services are also being evaluated in this respect.

Vice President Capron announced that Ron Ward had been selected as the first recipient of the Harman Hawkins Trophy, which will be awarded at the spring meeting in Newport. Mrs. Hawkins will make the presentation.

He also announced that a White Paper had been prepared discussing the implications of Regulation 75.1, Indemnification, from the perspectives of both sailors and organizers. Pending final review, the Paper will be posted on the web site later this week.

Vice President Tom Hubbell announced that an initial By-laws draft of the proposed reorganization plan had been completed and was being reviewed. It is anticipated that the new By-laws will be proposed at the spring meeting in Newport.

Action Item: A motion to hold the 2005 Annual Meeting at the Embassy Suites in Phoenix, AZ., was made, seconded and carried.

Ruth Creighton announced that Sarah Alger had been named chair of the Communications Subcommittee.

The next Executive Committee conference call meeting will be held March 21, 2005.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 p.m. E.S.T.

An Executive Session followed.

Two action items were taken during Executive Session with regard to written proposals for use by current and future Executive Committees.

Action Items: A motion was made, seconded and carried to approve a document, “Executive Director Compensation Guideline,” which sets guidelines for salary, benefits and bonuses for the Executive Director.

A motion was made, seconded and carried to approve the creation of an “Executive Compensation Committee” consisting of three Executive Committee members.

The Executive Session was adjourned at 11:13 p.m. E.S.T.

Dick Hanneman, Secretary