Executive Committee Minutes
September 21, 2004 8:00pm E.D.T.

Telephone conference


President Janet Baxter called the meeting to order at 8:00 p.m. E.D.T.


Executive Committee members present were: Janet Baxter, Dean Brenner, Jim Capron, Ruth Creighton, Fred Hagedorn, Dick Hanneman, Leslie Keller, Rich Jepson, Patty Lawrence, Joni Palmer, and Bill Ross.   Absent were Paul Callahan, Don Durant, Bruce Eissner, Tom Hubbell and Bill Munster.   Also present were Executive Director Nick Craw and Budget Director Hortensia Hacker.


Action Item:

A motion to approve the Executive Committee Minutes of August 16, 2004, was made, seconded and carried.


President Janet Baxter welcomed new ExCom member Rich Jepson, who has been named Chair of the Training Committee replacing Jim Muldoon, who resigned effective August 31, after having served in that position for the past three years. 


President Baxter will be among the speakers at the International Sailing Summit held in connection with the 2004 Annapolis Boat Show.  Her topic:  How Volunteers Grow Sailing.  She also mentioned that both Americap and IRC will likely be used in the US next year.  It was suggested that a balanced presentation be prepared to compare the most common rating rules


Executive Director Nick Craw reported that the financial statements are 30 days more current than we have been experiencing because the new accounting system is operational.  Budget Director Hortensia Hacker raised questions about expense and income variances, and fulfillment costs, and asked that these items be reviewed for accuracy. 


Treasurer Leslie Keller reported that the new system is now producing a Balance Sheet and that the current ratio is a favorable 2/1.


US SAILING Olympic Committee Chair Fred Hagedorn noted that the Paralympics are in progress with US sailor Tom Brown currently in second place in the 2.4 Metre Class, and John Ross Duggan, Brad Johnson and J.P. Creignou currently in fourth place sailing Sonars.


He reviewed the recently completed Olympics and expressed appreciation to all the participants, the sailors, coaches, staff personnel and our weather forecaster, citing them as good Ambassadors for the United States.


Olympic sailors have been invited to the Portland AGM and those who can attend will be introduced in a special program at the annual banquet.  In addition, the US SAILING Olympic Committee will host a public feedback and discussion at its meeting.


General Services Chair Ruth Creighton reported that current committee activity includes:

            +A new membership brochure currently being distributed;

  +A PowerPoint presentation on the new Ambassadors program has been

    tested and another training session is scheduled for October;

            +All US SAILING Sponsors have been invited to a Sponsors Meeting in


            +CREW award nominations are underway;

            +The Information Technology Task Force will report at the October

              meeting, and;

            +The Committee Chair notebook is being revised and updates.


Race Administration Chair Jim Capron announced that first Harmon Hawkins Trophy presentation will be at the 2005 Spring meeting.  The award was created last month.


The Executive Committee agreed to hold meetings during the Portland AGM at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 20, and at 7 a.m. on Oct. 22, 23, and 24.


Action Item:  A Motion to accept the recommendations of meeting planner, Siobhan Lynch to move the Annual General Meetings to dates earlier in October of 2005 and 2006, was made, seconded and carried.


Secretary Dick Hanneman will prepare the schedule of Executive Committee meeting dates for 2005, to be approved at the Portland meetings.


Vice President Joni Palmer reported on the National Transportation Safety Board forum she and Jim Muldoon attended.  She noted that while there were not strong stands taken on PFD usage at the forum, the use of PFDs in sailing has doubled in the past few years and is already will above the long term goals being set for small boats.


There was no Executive Session.  The meeting adjourned at 9:15 p.m. E.D.T.


Dick Hanneman,