US SAILING Executive Committee
May 17, 2004 8:00 p.m. E.D.T
Telephone Conference

President Janet Baxter called the meeting to order at 8:00 p.m. E.D.T.

Executive Committee members present were: Janet Baxter, Dean Brenner, Jim Capron, Ruth Creighton, Don Durant, Fred Hagedorn, Dick Hanneman, Tom Hubbell, Patty Lawrence, Bill Munster, Jim Muldoon, Joni Palmer, and Bill Ross. Absent were Paul Callahan, Bruce Eissner and Bill Ross. Also present were Executive Director Nick Craw and Area D Director Norton Brooker.

Action Item:
A Motion to approve the Minutes of the April 20, 2004 meeting of the US SAILING Executive Committee was made, seconded and carried.

US SAILING Olympic Committee Chair Fred Hagedorn announced that the United States had qualified for all sailing events to be held at the 2004 Olympics in Greece. The Women's 470 team qualified by finishing 8th at the 470 World Championships in Croatia this week.

He also announced that the United States Sailing Foundation had received gifts from The Charlotte and Walter Kohler Charitable Trust in the amounts of $100,000 to support the building of an endowment for our Olympic Program, and $25,000 to support our 2004 Olympic Coaching needs. It was also noted that the Sailing Foundation of New York was holding a fundraising event at the New York Yacht Club in Manhattan on the 18th of May to support the needs of our 2004 Olympic and Paralympic athletes.

President Baxter announced that the United States had withdrawn from the International Rule Working Party, but would continue discussions with that group. Several groups are currently forming to develop a new Grand Prix Rule for U.S. sailors.

She announced that the Ocean Conservancy has asked for a US SAILING representative to its Environmental Task Force. Jim Muldoon will serve as US SAILING liaison to the Conservancy.

Executive Director Nick Craw distributed an Audit summary. The Audit is complete and is being reviewed by the Audit Committee.

Treasurer Leslie Keller noted that we are in a negative cash position as of last week, but that the current $300,000 drawn on the line of credit will be reduced by $100,000 this week. Software conversion issues are expected to be resolved by June 1. She also noted that accounts payable are minimal while accounts receivable are near $55,000.

General Services Chair Ruth Creighton announced that she and Mary Weaver will develop a new membership report form, and that there is increased interdepartmental cooperation at US SAILING on membership issues specifically between Membership and Training to better actualize the value of our products and membership.

After a discussion about Regulation 7.01, which addresses the requirements for US SAILING membership in order to participate in benefits, a working party of the General Services Committee will be formed to provide oversight and guidelines for staff in dealing with this issue. She noted that the Executive Director already has the ability to set prices and/or increase fees.

Bill Munster announced that Prescriptions for the new Rule Book are being reviewed and will be presented to the ExCom for approval at the June telephone conference meeting.

Action Items:
A motion to nominate John Koopman as International Measurer for the Star and Etchells Classes was made, seconded and carried. The nomination will be submitted to ISAF.

A motion to approve the Rolex Osprey Cup as an ISAF Grade I event, was made, seconded and carried.

A motion to approve the creation of a Youth Multihull Restricted Fund was approved in Principal, subject to verification that the final wording in the Agreement is in compliance with the wording for our other US SAILING restricted Youth Championship Funds. Motion made, seconded and carried.

Action was deferred on the creation of a Stevens Trophy for Youth Multihull Champions pending the completion of the Deed of Trust.

The first One-Design Symposium, sponsored jointly by the One-Design Class Council and the Inshore Committee is scheduled for Nov. 13-14 in Newport, R.I.

Vice President Tom Hubbell led the continued discussion on the Structure Task Force. The discussion will continue at the next ExCom meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 10.07 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time.

Dick Hanneman, Secretary