US SAILING Executive Committee
Telephone Conference

Pres. Dave Rosekrans called the meeting to order at 8 p.m. E.S.T. Members present were Janet Baxter, Jim Capron, Ruth Creighton, Don Durant Bruce Eissner, Louise Gleason, Fred Hagedorn, Dick Hanneman, Tom Hubbell, Stephen Jeffries, Jim Muldoon, Bill Munster, Joni Palmer, and Dave Rosekrans. T.K.Wegg was present as a replacement for Bill Ross who was excused. Board guests present were Means Davis and Betty Sue Sherman. Also present were Exec. Dir. Nick Craw, budget director Hortensia Hacker, Dave Irish, and Bob Lane. Absent: Paul Callahan.

The minutes of the Nov. 19, 2002 Executive Committee were approved as amended.

President Rosekrans moved to approve the following committee chairs: Melinda Berge, Communications; Chris Clements, Youth Championship; and Thomas H. Farquhar, Appeals Committee. The motion was seconded and carried.

A discussion on the Terms of Reference for the Budget Committee was deferred to January.

A motion was made, seconded and approved to welcome the nominee from Sail America, Martha Parker, as Industry Representative to the Board.

Executive Director Craw reported a surplus of $228,265 and cash flow of approximately $280,000 for the fiscal year ending October 31, 2002. This compares to a loss originally projected at $240,000 at the beginning of the year. The turnaround was achieved by a combination of new revenue and expense eliminations. Once the "stub" period of November/December is closed out, US SAILING will be fully converted to a calendar fiscal year. New employees Liza Hughes in Training and Marlieke Eaton as Communications Manager were announced. In order to relieve over-crowding in Training, that department is being relocated into the space presently occupied by merchandise and publications, which will be out-sourced in the next 60 days.

President Rosekrans reported that US SAILING has met the due diligence requirements with respect to the Board’s decision to change insurance carriers. He also reported that conflicts with respect to use of a logo very similar to US SAILING's were being addressed.

The NOR, Application and ISAF Report Form for the Santa Maria Cup, a Grade 4 event, were approved.

Fred Hagedorn recommended the creation of a US SAILING Performance of the Miami OCR Award to be presented annually to the US boat with the best finish at the Miami OCR. The Award will be the Olympic Torch from the 1980 Moscow Olympics, which was given to Andy Kostaneki by the Russian Olympic Committee. He presented the Torch to US SAILING last year. A keeper award will be created for the winner, and the Torch and Honor Roll of winners will be maintained at US SAILING. A formal deed of gift will be prepared. The motion was seconded and approved.

An Executive Session followed.
The meeting was adjourned at 9:45 EST.
Respectfully submitted,
Dick Hanneman, Secretary.