Present were Executive Committee members Sarah Alger, Charley Cook, Jim Capron, Don Durant, Bruce Eissner, Fred Hagedorn, Tom Hubbell, Stephen Jeffries, Louise van Voorhis Gleason, Jim Muldoon, Joni Palmer, Dave Rosekrans, John Ross, and Mike Schoettle. Also present was Executive Director Nick Craw.

1.       Approval of the Executive Committee Minutes.

         Motion: a motion was made, seconded and approved to accept the March 14, 2002 Executive Committee minutes.

2.       Fiscal Year.  A discussion occurred regarding implementation of the change to a
       calendar fiscal year. It was agreed that reference to an implementation date of
       January 1, 2003 be eliminated from the vote on the minutes of Thursday, March
       14, 2002. This will afford greater flexibility to the Treasurer, President, and
        Executive Director in implementing the change in fiscal year.

3.       Presidentís Report.  Dave Rosekrans shared statistics on membership renewals.

4.       Strategic Planning.  Discussion occurred regarding the next step in Strategic Planning. Agreement was to have a second strategic planning session within the next several months, with staff, to add Tasks to each of the Long-Term Strategic Objectives.

5.       Olympic Report.  Fred Hagedorn reported that the US Sailing Foundation awarded $500 each for up to 36 athletes participating in the 2002 ISAF World Sailing Games. He noted the appreciation of the Olympic Sailing Committee to USSF.

6.       Site Selection.  Discussion ensued regarding the location of the spring 2004
       meeting. The Executive Committee concluded that a new location needs to be
       found for the spring 2004 meeting that is more accessible.

7.       Committee Ratifications.

         A motion was made, seconded, and approved to ratify the appointment of the Communications Committee. 

         A motion was made, seconded, and approved to ratify the addition of Hugh Elliot to the General Services Committee.

         A motion was made, seconded, and approved to ratify the addition of Kevin Kavanaugh to the Training Committee.

8.       New Business.

8.a.    Code of Conduct Video.  John Ross noted that the CSA and Inshore committees are planning to develop a video on sportsmanship.

Meeting adjourned at 8:35 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,


Sarah Alger

Next Executive Committee meeting - Tuesday, April 16, 2002 at 7:00 pm (Eastern standard time).