Board of Directors Minutes
October 22, 2004
Annual General Meeting in Portland, OR

President Janet Baxter called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m., Pacific Daylight Time.


Directors present were:  James Appel, Janet Baxter, Betsy Beddow, Faye Bennet, Stan Betts, Jerelyn Biehl, Terry Bischoff, Dean Brenner, Norton Brooker, Craig Brown, Jim Capron, Clark Chapin, Ruth Creighton, Means Davis, Dan Doyle, Peter Durant, Don Durant, Bruce Eissner, Susan Epstein, Art Fox, Fred Hagedorn, Dick Hanneman, Joey Harris, Tom Hubbell, Charles Ivey, Rich Jepsen, Leslie Keller, Hart Kelley, Patty Lawrence, Dan Mangus, Gene McCarthy, Joe Melino, Clay Mock, Ken Morrison, Bill Munster, Greg Norwine, Joni Palmer,  Mark Reynolds, Bill Ross, John Rudy, Betty Sue Sherman, and Bill Stump. Absent were:  John Amos, Mitch Brindley, Larry Bulman, Paul Callahan, Tom Carruthers, Louise Gleason, John Osmond, Martha Parker, and Adam Werblow.


Vice President Jim Capron discussed a new US SAILING trophy, the Harmon Hawkins Trophy, to be presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the sport of sailing in the field of Race Administration, including judging, race management, appeals and racing rules.  The first award will be presented at the Spring 2005 meeting, and future awards will be presented at the Annual meeting.  


John Ross presented a “keeper” trophy to Faye Bennet.  A Faye Bennet Sportsmanship Trophy was created last year and is presented annually at the US SAILING Youth Championships.


Lee Parks and Clark Chapin presented this year’s C.R.E.W. award to John Strassman.


Following the assignment of rooms for the break-out discussion groups, the meeting was adjourned at 8:22 a.m.


Dick Hanneman, Secretary