US SAILING Board of Directors Meeting Saturday, November 3, 2012 San Francisco, CA

Present: Ed Adams, Bruce Burton, John Craig, Susan Epstein, JJ Fetter, Secretary Fred Hagedorn, Jory Hinman, Leslie Keller, Ben Richardson, Jim Walsh and non-voting Ex Officio members, Executive Director Jack Gierhart and Managing Director Olympic Programs Josh Adams.

Regrets: President Gary Jobson, Maureen McKinnon-Tucker and Dawn Riley

- 1) The meeting was called to order by Secretary Hagedorn on behalf of President Jobson at 5:31 pm PDT.
- 2) Secretary Hagedorn called the roll and announced that a quorum was present.
- 3) Election of Officers:

Secretary Hagedorn, on behalf of Nominating Chair, Jim Capron, placed Tom Hubbell in Nomination as President of the US Sailing Association for a single, three-year term. This nomination was **MADE**, Seconded and APPROVED by unanimous vote.

President Hubbell then nominated Dave Ullman to serve as the Select Director for a term of three years. This **MOTION** was Seconded and APPROVED. Dave Ullman was not present as he had a prior commitment on the east coast at a sailing event.

President Hubbell then nominated Taren Teague to serve as the Treasurer for a term of three years. This **MOTION** was Seconded, and APPROVED. Treasurer Teague joined the Board with thanks to Past Treasurer Leslie Keller for her service and continued support.

President Hubell then nominated Patty Lawrence to serve as the Secretary for a term of three years. This **MOTION** was Seconded, and APPROVED. Secretary Lawrence joined the Board and Past Secretary Hagedorn joined the audience with thanks.

President Hubbell then called for nominations from the Board for the Vice President. Bruce Burton was placed in Nomination with a Second, and this **MOTION** was APPROVED.

President Hubbell then nominated Mason Chrisman as the Board-nominated member of the Governance Committee. This **MOTION** was Seconded and APPROVED.

President Hubbell then called upon Past Secretary Hagedorn, on behalf of Nominating Committee Chair Gary Jobson, to Nominate the following Division Chairs for single terms of the designated lengths:

Education Division Rich Jepson 1 year
Race Administration Division Hank Stuart 1 year

•	Championships Division	Shannon Bush	2 years
•	Management Division	Sarah Alger	2 years
•	Inshore / Smaller Boat Division	OPEN	3 years
•	Offshore / Big Boat Division	Bill Lee	3 years
•	Venues Division	Jim Tichenor	3 years

This **MOTION** was Seconded and APPROVED.

4) Approval of Minutes

The approval of the Minutes from the October 31, 2012 and the November 2, 2012 meetings was DEFERRED to the November 26, 2012 meeting of the Board.

5) Reports from Committees

a) Youth Multihull and Championships Committee presented the following **MOTION** for consideration:

We move to dissolve the US Youth Multihull Championships Committee and include the multihull discipline at the Youth Championships beginning in August , 2013. Further, we request that a change to Regulation 4 be initiated to reflect this change.

This **MOTION** was MADE, Seconded and APPROVED.

- b) The Chair of the Championships Division, Shannon Bush, Recommended the nomination of Jim Tichenor as the Chair of the Offshore Championships Committee. This MOTION was MADE, Seconded and APPROVED
- 6) Welcome from our new President, Tom Hubbell

President Hubbell thanked the Board and the association for their support and trust in him. He further noted that there were three issues at the top of the list for him, as we embark on this three year journey:

- 1. Reach out to Local Sailing Organizations and Clubs to hear what is needed
- 2. Deliver our fantastic education resources and products to our clubs and local sailing organizations, and all others interested in our sport
- 3. Moving into the new Quad in support of our Olympic and Paralympic programs

7) OLD BUSINESS - NONE

8) NEW BUSINESS

President Hubbell thanked Jack Gierhart and Katie Ouellette and the entire staff for an excellently presented weekend of meetings!

Mike Levesque, Chair of the Multihull Committee stood to specifically thank the Board and in particular Jack Gierhart and Past Secretary Hagedorn and the Championships Division for their support of him and his efforts to help bring Multihull Sailing into the mainstream of the association.

We will see you all in Captiva, FL, next year.

9) The meeting was adjourned at 5:51 pm PDT.

Respectfully submitted,

Frederick H. Hagedorn Secretary