US SAILING Board of Directors Meeting January 22, 2011 Miami, FL

Present: Ed Adams, Dean Brenner, John Craig, Susan Epstein, Secretary Fred Hagedorn, Stan Honey, Vice President Tom Hubbell, President Gary Jobson, Treasurer Leslie Keller, Maureen McKinnon-Tucker, Dawn Riley, Bill Stump and non-voting Ex Officio members, Acting Executive Director Jack Gierhart and House of Delegates Chair, Jim Walsh.

- The meeting was called to order by President Jobson at 8:17 am EDT. Most of the meeting was Strategic Planning, however, at various times, Motions were made and business was conducted. These Minutes reflect the business actions of the Board of Directors.
- 2) Secretary Hagedorn called the Roll and announced that a quorum was present.
- 3) Consent Calendar

The approval of the Consent Calendar was **MOVED**, Seconded and APPROVED. The following is therefore approved:

- a) Minutes from December 13, 2010
- b) Committee Appointments (see Appendix A)
- 4) Offshore Handicapping Systems Stan Honey believes that the best plan for the Offshore department would be to support three levels of rating rules, each to serve the different markets. A single rule at one level will not meet the needs of the constituencies of the Offshore department.

US SAILING needs to expand its support of PHRF fleets and sailors. We can do this by developing national reference ratings and enhancing our website to include more features for PHRF fleets and sailors. Examples include online rating applications that allow boat owners to submit their rating application on our website and regional fleets to review and approve ratings using online tools.

a) Create and delicately offer tools to support PHRF sailors and fleets around the country at no cost to the fleets. It needs to be clearly communicated that we are providing these tools and support at the request of regional fleets.

US SAILING needs to continue to be seen as agnostic and equally promoting IRC and ORR.

Support development of Universal Measurement Form (UMF) to make it easier for boat owners to get boats measured and sail under different rules.

It was **MOVED**, Seconded and APPROVED to

- a) Strongly Support the use of the Universal Measurement Form;
- b) Remain even-handed in our administration of both the IRC and the ORR rules;
- c) Strongly support PHRF as outlined above in alignment with the needs of Regional Fleets; and
- d) Advocate for a three rule solution.

5) Olympic Report – Chairman Brenner presented his vision of an increasingly professionalized Leadership Position for the Olympic Program of the Association.

A **MOTION** was made, seconded and APPROVED to Professionalize the Leadership position of the Olympic Sailing Program as it transitions from Chairman Brenner to the next leader.

A **MOTION** was made, seconded and APPROVED to authorize President Jobson to redraft the proposed letter of support from a sponsor in support of the Leadership position of the Olympic Program for the 2012-2016 Quadrennium.

- 6) The Board entered into Executive Session at 5:28 pm EDT
- 7) The meeting was adjourned at 5:35 pm EDT.

Respectfully submitted,

Frederick H. Hagedorn Secretary

Appendix A

_	Staff Liaison	<u>CY2011</u>	<u>MEMBERS</u>	<u>First Name</u>
Admin Div Chair		Jim Muldoon		
Budget	Bobbi	James Appel		
			Alger	Sarah
			Durant	Peter
			Glover	Nancy
			Jeffries	Stephen
			Luppens	Chris
			Sodaro	Vicki
			Stump	Bill
			Keller	Leslie
			Warren	Bobbie
Development	Jack Geirhart	Sarah Alger		
			Hogobloom	Chase
			Rosekrans	Dave
Membership	Jack Geirhart	Bill Kirk		
			Draftz	Randy
			Marnane	Dana
Risk Management	Lee Parks	Means Davis		
Site Selection	Katie O.	Joy Siegel		
Technology	Jack Geirhart	OPEN		
Web Liaison	Sarah	Chris Luppens		
Team Racing	Lee Parks	Steve Wolff		
ORR	Dan Nowlan	Peter Reichelsdorfer		
Onto	Barriowan	reservoidadires	Bottino	Gino
			Fipps	Jerry
			Hampikian	Dick
			Kern	Frank
			Nowlan	Dan
			O'Neill	Shawn
			Taylor	Jim
			Teeters	Jim
			Winder	J
PHRF	Dan Nowlan	Bruce Bingman		
		· ·	Ansfield	Paul
			Bottino	Gino
			Honey	Stan
			Kendrick	June
			Porter	Robert
			Rice	Bert
			Ritter	W. Trey
			Schaefer	Debbie
				-

Tichenor Jim Van Heeckeren Dan Walsh Jim Men's **Bob Counihan** Liz Women's Liz Linda Epstein Classification Chris Jim Thweatt **Education Division Chair** Rich Jepsen **Training** Janine Rich Jepsen Allsopp Dick Charlie Arms Rich Brew Capper Сарру Durant Peter Giella Pat Glasell Donald Hapgood Kim Kavenagh Kevin Hart Kelley Ledgerwood Larry McCurdy Sheila Mogle Jo O'Hare Holly Wolford Richardson Nancy Wilbersheid Jak Commercial Sailing Janine **Greg Norwine** Colgate Steven Colgate **Doris** Jepsen Rich Straw Kevin Segerblom Mette Sports Medicine Chris Gino Bottino Sportsmanship Lee Clark Chapin Aspery Steve Cady Dean Marlieke Eaton Fisher Greg **Jeffries** Rich Natalie King JD Reddaway Siegel John Recreation Div. Chair Lee Gary Snyder Community Sailing Center Sanc & Exch Morgan Collins

Schoenberger

Lincoln F.

Non-Divisional Committees

Walt Audit Bobbi Chamberlain

Glover Nancy
Riley Dawn
Keller Leslie
Warren Bobbie

Compensation ED Tom Hubbell