

## US SAILING Board of Directors October 20,2005 Phoenix Arizona Minutes

President Janet Baxter called to order the meeting of the Board of Directors of US SAILING at 8 a.m.P.D.T.

Directors present were: Janet C Baxter, Faye Bennet, Stanton W Betts, Bruce Bingman, Dean M Brenner, Craig W Brown, Jim Capron, Robert Counihan, Ruth Creighton, Means Davis Jr, Susan Epstein, Fred Hagedorn, Richard Hanneman, Tom Hubbell, Charles Ivey, Rich Jepsen, Leslie Keller, Patricia Lawrence, Clay Mock, Greg Norwine, Joni Palmer, Thomas Roberts, William Sandberg, John Siegel, Karen Duay Smith, Bill Stump, Janice Visser, Scott West, Charles R Zechel.

Absent were John Amos, Charlie Arms, Jerelyn Biehl, Bob Billingham, Terry Bischoff, Mitch Brindley, Norton W. Brooker Jr, Peter Durant, Joseph Harris, John Lovell III, Dan Mangus, Ken Morrison, Bill Munster, John Rudy, Cory Sertl, Betty Sue Sherman, Nathanial Siddall, Adam Werblow.

Acting Offshore Council Chair Craig Brown reported the resignation of two Council members to the US SAILING Board of Directors. They are Bruce Eissner and Talbut Wilson. Their replacements will be selected at the Offshore meeting today.

President Baxter welcomed first time attendees and asked them to identity themselves to the Board.

The Board observed a moment of silence in honor of departed sailors.

President Baxter presented a detailed report of here activities both on behalf of US SAILING during the past year, both on and off the water. Her report is attached to these minutes.

Vice President Tom Hubbell reviewed provisions of the proposed Bylaws and discussed how US SAILING business will be conducted if they are approved in tomorrow's Annual General Meeting.

President Baxter announced the appointment of the following committee chairs for the coming year.

Action Item: A motion was made, seconded and carried to approve the following committee chairs, each of whom will serve on the Executive Committee for 2006: Patty Lawrence, Inshore; Dick Rose, Race Administration; Rich Jebson, Training; John Siegel, Offshore; and Ruth Creighton, Membership Services.

IT Consultant Serge Jorgensen gave an update on the US SAILING Information Technology Project that has been underway since last spring. Phase one, with a target of January 2006, incorporates event registration, membership, and financials. Staff is approximately 30-45 days from testing. This first stage is designed to be the foundation that will take the organizations through the next 12 years.

Treasurer Leslie Keller presented a treasurer's report for the first nine months of 2005 with a projecting a yearend loss based on results to date. The full report was distributed to the Board.

Action Item: A motion was made, seconded and carried that US SAILING use a portion of deferred revenue to pay down the current line of credit and benefit from the difference in the spread between interest paid and interest earned.

Budget Chair James Appel discussed an initial budget proposal that would lead to a deficit in 2006. The committee is examining ways to effect both revenue and expenses in order to present a balanced budget for presentation to the Board in the Saturday session.

President Baxter announced that US SAILING had cast its votes for ISAF Rolex Sailor of the Year Paige Railey as Woman Sailor of the Year and Peter Gilmore as Male Sailor of the Year.

Dick Alsop and Faye Bennet presented the annual C.R.E.W. Award to for exceptional volunteer service to US SAILING to Sandy Grosvenor.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:40 a.m.

Dick Hanneman Secretary