U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship

for the Allegra Knapp Mertz and Adams Memorial Trophies

Newport Harbor Yacht Club
Newport Harbor, CA

Regatta Documents

About the Championship

Founded in 1974, the U.S. Women’s Open Championship served the interest of female sailors who wished to compete against other women at the national level in double and singlehanded boats. The regattas were organized along traditional one design racing lines where boat preparation is a factor, and no eliminations were required. A boardsailing championship was added in 1981. A one-day clinic typically preceded the three-day championship regatta.

The Adams Memorial Trophy for doublehanded sailing was presented by Mrs.Henry (Adams) Morgan, and the Committee presented the Mertz Trophy for singlehanded sailing to honor Allegra Knapp Mertz as four-time winner of the U.S. Women’s National Championship and many years of service as Chairperson of the Women’s Championship Committee.

In 2000, a motion to change the event from fleet racing to match racing was passed.  The first U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship was held at Southern Yacht Club, November 11 – 14, 2002.  The Mertz Trophy is awarded to the winner and the Adams Memorial to the runner up.

Championship Facts & Features

  • Venue Oyster Bay, Cold Spring Harbor or Long Island Sound.
  • Only skippers invited by the OA will be eligible to enter this event. Invitations will be issued in
    accordance with the USWMRC Conditions.
  • To be invited, skippers must request an invitation online no later than midnight  June 22, 2014.
  • Skippers shall complete online team registration, including names and US Sailing
    membership numbers for all crew by July 10, 2014.
  • The event will be sailed in Match 40 type sailboats provided by Oakcliff Sailing
  • The event will be sailed in Match 40 type sailboats provided by Oakcliff Sailing

Championship Awards

Trophies will be awarded for first and second place:

  • The Allegra Knapp Mertz Trophy, emblematic of the U.S. Women’s Match Racing Championship
  • The Mrs. Charles Francis Adams Memorial Trophy, emblematic of the Runner-up position

Previous Winners



SailorsforSea             Gill