Chubb Jr
June 30th – July 3rd, 2018
Houston Yacht Club, La Porte, Texas

for the George D. O’Day, Helen Wills Hanley and Peter Barrett Sportsmanship Trophies

Thank You National Sponsors

2018 Results & Coverage


2016 U.S. Singlehanded Championship



About the Championship

Singlehanded racing in North America originally involved for the most part the occasional sailor competing in the Olympics. It received a boost when ex-collegiate sailor, John Marvin, won a bronze medal in the 1956 Olympic Games and the Finn was introduced on a broad scale in North America. The U.S. Singlehanded Championship was first sailed on Long ISland Sound in the Finn Class, the championship was won by Peter J. Barret.

Championship Facts

  • Laser Standard – Mens, Laser Radial – Womens
  • Run in conjunction with the Laser Nationals
  • Must be 17 years of age in the calender year of competition
  • Must be current members of US Sailing, member of a Sailing Club, Sailing Organization or District Laser Class Association belonging to a Regional Sailing Association
  • U.S. Citizens and permanent residents
  • In 1962, friends of George D. O’Day dedicated a USYRU (now US Sailing) trophy in his name for a national singlehanded championship
  • O’Day was well known to sailors through his company manufacturing small boats, including a unique version of the Finn, as well as helmsman of the gold medal winning 5.5 Metre in 1960 at Naples, Italy
  • First sailed on Long Island Sound in the Finn Class, the championship was won by Peter J. Barrett who, if he had not lightly touched with his shoulder the rudder of a starboard tack boat he was ducking in the fifth race, which only he was aware of, would have won a Gold medal (rather than Silver) in the Finn at the 1964 Olympic Games
  • Initially sailed as a mixed event, in 2010, the decision was made to split the event, adding a separate event for women
  • In 2011, a trophy was awarded in honor of Helen Wills Hanley for the winner of the women’s division



                    George D. O’Day Trophy



             Helen Hanley Trophy