U.S. Match Racing Championship


Oakcliff Sailing Center
Oyster Bay, NY

Regatta Documents

About the Championships

Match Racing competition for the Prince of Wales Bowl started in 1931 at the Arcadia Yacht Club under the sponsorship of the Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron. Similar to the Sir Thomas Lipton Cups, there are numerous ‘Prince of Wales Bowls’ in competition among yacht clubs in North America.   In 1937, it was permanently retired by the Vineyard Haven Yacht Club, Massachusetts in the days when the club had so much talent, e.g. the Besse brothers, John H. (Jack) Ware, Kingman Brewster, Frank Jewett, Jr. (who sailed in the singlehanded class in 1936 Olympics) that its members drew lots to see who would compete in which NAYRU championship. It is fitting that the helmsman of the 1934 POW winning crew, Frank Jewett, Jr.  was instrumental in persuading the Club in 1965 to restore the Bowl to active competition as a perpetual trophy for the Southern Massachusetts Yacht Racing Association’s interclub match racing championship.

In 1967, Mr. Jewett requested the Southern Massachusetts Yacht Racing Association’s Executive Committee to open up the event for the first North American interclub match racing championship. Jewett became the first chairman of the NAYRU POW Committee.    Under his leadership, conditions and courses were refined in ways that affected events such as the America’s Cup by, for example, drastically shortening the length of the starting line for match racing. The Championship no doubt had an influence on the special section of the racing rules for match racing.

In 1975, the event grew still further to become the U.S. Match Racing Championship.

Championship Facts & Features

  • The competition is between yacht clubs and not between specifically designated persons. Each member of
    the crew must be a member of US Sailing and of a sailing organization that is a US Sailing member, except
    that participants from other countries shall either be members of US Sailing or be members of their ISAF
    recognized national authority for sailing.
  • The event will consist of the following stages:
    Stage 1 – Preliminary Round Robin Racing
    Stage 2 – Semi Final/Final Knock-out Series

Championship Awards

Price of Wales Bowl

Prince of Wales Bowl

Previous Winners

Sailors must submit a request for invitation online beginning February 1.  Skippers may request invites to one or more of the Qualifying events. All competitors shall be members of US Sailing and a sailing organization that is also a US Sailing member. Eligible crews do not have to be members of the club represented by the eligible skipper. The yacht club represented is the organization of which the skipper is a member.

Registration, weigh-in and any scheduled practice time will be detailed in the events’ Notice of Race.

*Oakcliff Sailing will offer a match racing clinic with the qualifying event on April 10, 2015.

Venue Entry Fee Damage Deposit Boat Type  # Boats Crew Number Crew Weight
April 10-12, 2015 Oakcliff Sailing* $450 $2,500 Match 40 10 5 or 6 437.5 kg
May 22-24, 2015 St. Francis Yacht Club $300 $1,500 J22 8 4 350 kg
May 29-31, 2015 Chicago Match Race Center See event NoR $2,500 Tom 28 8 4 or 5 350 kg
June 12-14, 2015 San Diego Yacht Club $300 $1,000 J22 8 3 or 4 262.5 kg
June 19-21, 2015 Annapolis Yacht Club See event NoR See event NoR J22 TBD 4 350 kg
June 26-28, 2015 Bayview Yacht Club $300 $1,000 Ultimate 20 8 3 or 4 262.5 kg
September 4-6, 2015 St. Francis Yacht Club $300 $1,500 J22 8 4 350 kg
Empty section. Edit page to add content here.



Gill        OP_Logo _with_Boat_web

            hobiepolarized_diestamp_teal         SailorsforSea