U.S. Disabled Championship

Chubb Jr

Clearwater Community Sailing Center

Clearwater, FL

November 16-19, 2017

for the Goldman, Hinkel, and Hovey Trophies

Regatta Documents

Classification is recommended but not required for sailors competing in the U.S. Disabled Championship. It is not required in the Development fleet if sailed.

All US Sailing members get a discount through the Hilton Hotel Chain. There are several options in the Clearwater area and they have multiple rooms available as of October 3. This can only be accessed by logging in at www.ussailing.org/membership and going to member benefits.  You will need your US Sailing membership number and password. Starwood Hotels have additional rooms but no longer have any accessible rooms. Code UK15AA


Starwood Hotel Rooms


  • 2.4mR,
  • Standard entry process
  • Competitors in these classes must supply their own boat, or make arrangements for charter
  • All competitors must be members of US Sailing or, if not U.S. residents, the national sailing authority of their home countries
  • Sailors should be classified by the time of racing

First established in 1986, what was then called the U.S. Independence Cup became US Sailing’s national championship for disabled sailors in 1989. For many years it was organized by the Disabled Sailing Committee and was run in conjunction with the North American Challenge Cup, which is hosted by Chicago Yacht Club.

In 2007, the regatta moved under the Championships division of US Sailing and was renamed the U.S. Disabled Sailing Championship.  The following year, the championship moved from Chicago Yacht Club to begin to travel around the country.  Many competitors at the U.S. Disabled Sailing Championships have gone on to represent the United States at the Paralympics Games including Nick Scandone, gold medalist at the 2008 Paralympics The Chandler Hovey, Jr. Trophy was donated at the 1994 Independence Cup by A.G.A. Correa and Co. to US Sailing. “Buzz” Hovey, for whom it is named, was active in 12 Metre racing in the ‘50’s and ‘60’s with the family owned Twelve, Easterner. Diagnosed with multiple sclerosis in 1947, he continued, nonetheless, to sail and race actively, especially in his Shields Class boat, until 1981 when he retired from the racing circuit.

Peter Goldman donated the Judd Goldman Trophy in honor of Justin “Judd” Goldman (1914-1989) who, despite his own physical disability, was an accomplished sailor and inspired the creation of the Judd Goldman Adaptive Sailing Program, Chicago, Illinois.  In 2009, a third trophy in honor of Gene Hinkle was donated in honor of Gene’s many contributions to disabled sailing and the US Paralympic team.

Committee Chair

Charlie Rosenfield | putnamhydro@charter.net

Event Chair

Rich White / richccsc@gmail.com

2016 Highlights

Created with flickr slideshow.

SperryChubSAPzimgowriesunsailmooringswest marinesailings worldgillhobieold pulteneyaps