St. Petersburg Yacht Club Trophy

The St. Petersburg Yacht Club Trophy

Emblematic of excellence in race management, the St. Petersburg Yacht Club Trophy was originally awarded by the St. Petersburg Yacht Club in the late 1960s to recognize the club that ran the best regatta. The trophy was retired for a number of years, then was donated to US Sailing in 1977. The winner is selected on the basis of race management excellence, including evaluation by participating skippers.

2016 St. Petersburg Trophy Winner:
Alamitos Bay Yacht Club
Long Beach, California
2016 Laser Mid-Winters West

Note: Qualifying an event for consideration requires advance planning. Information about the application requirements is provided below. Please contact the Race Administration office for more information.


Previous Winners

2016  Alamitos Bay Yacht Club

2015  Bayview Yacht Club

2014  Severn Sailing Association

2013  Sandusky Sailing Club

2012  Corinthian Sailing Club (Dallas)

2011  Annapolis Yacht Club

2010  Rochester Yacht Club

2009  Carolina Yacht Club of North Carolina

2008  Southwestern Yacht Club

2007  St. Petersburg Yacht Club

2006  Corpus Christi Yacht Club

2005  California Yacht Club

2004  Indian Harbor Yacht Club and Riverside Yacht Club

2003  Not Awarded

2002  California Yacht Club

2001  Richmond (California) Yacht Club

2000  Beverly Yacht Club

1999  Lake Norman Yacht Club

1998  Cedar Point Yacht Club

1997  Fort Worth Boat Club

1996  California Yacht Club

1995  Cleveland Yachting Club

1994  Eastern Yacht Club

1993  Windycrest Sailing Club

1992  Beverly Yacht Club

1991  Little Egg Harbor Yacht Club

1990  Houston Yacht Club

1989  Rochester Yacht Club

1988  San Diego Yacht Club

1987  Bayview Yacht Club

1986  Corinthian Sailing Club

1985  Long Beach Yacht Club

1984  Houston Yacht Club

1983  Waikiki Yacht Club

1982  Beverly Yacht Club

1981  Alamitos Bay Yacht Club

1980  Long Beach Yacht Club

1979  Island Bay Yacht Club

1978  Little Egg Harbor Yacht Club

1969  Long Beach Yacht Club

1968  Alamitos Bay Yacht Club

1967  Royal Canadian Yacht Club


  • The regatta may have any number of yachts entered
  • The regatta must consist of at least three closed-course races
  • The regatta must have nonprofessional race management
  • The Principal Race Officer and Chief Judge must be certified at any level as race officer and judge respectively by US Sailing, another MNA or World Sailing
  • The host club must be a member of US Sailing


  • The award is presented for events conducted between November 1 and October 31
  • Events held after October 31 are eligible for consideration in the following year
  • Completed applications must be received via email or postmarked no later than November 15
  • No more than two entries per yacht club per year will be considered
  • The award will be presented at the US Sailing National Conference in February


(Please contact the Race Administration office for more information and the required forms. NOTE: Please DO NOT use old forms or alter forms.)

  1. Club Entry form
  2. Notice of Race, including amendments
  3. Sailing Instructions, including amendments
  4. Principal Race Officer's report, including RC log, wind log and other required documents
  5. Protest Committee chair’s report (online form)
  6. Redress request documents (if applicable)
  7. Final regatta results
  8. Skipper Ballots (please see below)


Ballots are anonymous. They should be reproduced on paper and given to each skipper with an envelope to be sealed and returned after racing is completed. Skippers must return the sealed ballots to the host or regatta organizer, not to US Sailing. The organizer must return the unopened ballots to US Sailing along with other application materials. Although the completed ballots are to be unsigned, the club may use a checklist of skippers’ names to record ballots returned in order to facilitate collecting as many completed ballots as possible. A minimum of 60% of the boats participating or 40 completed ballots, whichever is fewer, must be returned. Comments on the enclosed form will be reviewed to help interpret skippers’ responses, but will not be counted in the final tally. No financial inducements are permitted to encourage completion of the skippers' ballots or other forms. Note: Please DO NOT alter the standard ballot for any reason other than entering the competing club's name in the appropriate space. 


All required items must be returned by the regatta organizer to US Sailing postmarked or time stamped no later than November 15. Please contact the Race Administration Director before the regatta to request the standard forms and discuss any questions or special conditions or arrangements.

Send the above items, in the form of PDFs via email to, or by USPS in an envelope or box marked “St. Petersburg Trophy,” to US Sailing, 1 Roger Williams University Way, Bristol, RI 02809. All items except the skipper ballots may be submitted as PDFs via email.

Entries will be judged by a selection committee of the US Sailing Race Management Committee. The trophy will be presented at the US Sailing National Conference in February. Winners will be notified in advance of the event.

ChubbGowrieSAPSperryGillSailing World SponsorCruising World SponsorRegatta Craft Ginger Beer SponsorSunsailTheZimHobie