Gay S. Lynn Memorial Trophy

gay_lynn_trophy_side_2The Gay S. Lynn Memorial Trophy is highest awarded presented by the Committee for Sailors with Disabilities and is given annually to a person, volunteer, professional, or a organization, that is recognized as having made an outstanding contribution to disabled sailors and the sport of disabled sailing over a sustained period of time. The award is given out  at either US Sailing’s Annual Meeting or a major disabled sailing event.

The late Gay Lynn was a major supporter of disabled sailing for many, promoting the sport and letting people who had been injured know that they still had much to look forward to. In addition, Gay’s late husband Bill was a past President of US Sailing. Their son, Bill, is an active sailor–both offshore and one-design-is a past North American and World Sonar Champion.

Make a nomination

 Past Recipients

2013 Magnus Liljedahl
2012 Harry R. Horgan & Shake-A-Leg Miami
2011 Matthew Chao
2010 Linda Merkle
2009 Betsy Alison
2008 Hugh Elliot
2007 Keith Burhans
2006 Urban Miyares
2005 Gene Hinkel
2004 Robie Pierce
2003 Judd Goldman Sailing Foundation & Peter Goldman